We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful location directly opposite the beach and yachts but also just a nice distance away from the jetty and the hustle and bustle. Walking distance to everything! Room was adquate although nothing special. Tea, coffee, fruit available all day in reception was brilliant! Self-serve included breakfast was great with good choice and lovely to sit beside the pool. 5pm biscuits, cheese, fruit, wines, juice, tea or coffee was an extra very acceptable treat and again very relaxing enjoying by the pool and spa. Chocolates each evening on your bed also lovely. Free WiFi was good reception. Staff very welcoming and friendly and happy to assist with anything. Would stay again although cost was fairly high but may have been due to Summer Vacation time and extra inclusions made the cost acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamsComeTrue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    213
    52
    10
    13
See reviews for
111
256
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I really loved it here. From the location, to the relaxed vibe, to the clean & comfortable room, I was really impressed & would definitely return. We were fortunate to get a free upgrade to a more spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool & Santa Barbara's beautiful coastline but we'd have been happy enough without that. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Free wifi always pleasing. Do check out the Italian restaurant next door too. Just a few steps away. For such a reasonable price this hotel was everything we wanted & more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beewestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! Guests do tend to mention our relaxed vibe - it's true, when you are on vacation we want you to be able to sit back, enjoy the property and surrounding areas and leave the housekeeping to us. Toma's, the restaurant you mentioned, is truly fantastic and we are thrilled that it is just steps away from our hotel. We look forward to your return visit when travelling through Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous. The rooms, gardens, pool and hotel are so clean and beautiful. They have a welcoming wine and cheese at 5:00 everyday by the pool. They have coffee, tea and water out all day for your convenience. The continental breakfast is very good. This hotel is conveniently located across from the beach and walking distance to Stearns Wharf and to amazing restaurants. As well you can walk to State Street for all sorts of shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_I_want_is_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely large room with view of the yachts. Able to do our laundry easily. Convenient having a free breakfast and an extra bonus of wine and cheese provided in the evenings. When I left something of value in the safe and phoned them they were very willing to post it to me at no charge. Also located next to the super Italian restaurant "Tomos". Free parking too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent one night here on a road trip around California - arrived via the road through Los Olivos and past Lake Cachuma on a beautiful day - so we were sold on Santa Barbara even before arriving! But the West Beach Inn was a real find and somewhere we would love to come back to on our next trip - in fact, as the basis for our next trip!!

We arrived a couple of hours before check-in but sorted all the paperwork ready for the moment the room was ready (earlier than the published check-in time). Our check-in host was really helpful, and gave us a fantastic recommendation for lunch which we sampled and adored! Once into the room, it was very spacious for 4 with a great view across to the Harbour and beach, and a lovely balcony where we spent the evening watching the moon dance over the sea. The beds were extremely comfortable and all of the accommodation was spotlessly clean and well cared for.

My only point for improvement would be on value for money as we stayed at better resort-type hotels than this on our trip for less money - but this may be down to the deals that were available on the day, and I hope future travellers find good deals! It is a great place to stay with reliable service, wifi and free parking in a beautiful location - I'd love to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location. Free continental breakfast. Free wifi. Free wine and cheese daily from 5p-7p by the pool. Free parking. Spacious room. Very clean and updated. Awesome staff. Friendly and helpful! I would def recommend!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klg122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy to provide excellent service without nickel and diming our guests at every turn - complimentary everything - it has a nice ring to it, doesn't it! Thanks again and I will be sharing with our team your positive remarks to keep the inspiration going!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and asked at the last minute if our son could join us. They were able to give us a room that had a small room off of it for him to sleep in. The bed was comfortable, the room large and very quiet. The next morning we woke and took a walk on the pier, which was only a couple blocks away. and then returned to find that we were at the start of the Fiesta Parade and had a perfect view from just outside our room. It was also almost next door to Toma the # 1 ranked restaurant in Trip Adviser for Santa Barbara and we were able to easily make a reservation, relax in our room and walk to and from the restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danchel465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 West Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing