We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The motel is in a great location--across from the beach and near the harbor. The rooms appeared to be recently renovated, except for the tile around the tub in the bathrooms. Our room was tiny and cramped however the biggest problem was discovering the bed sheets were crusty, stained and unclean. I discovered this in the middle of our first night. I reported this to the front desk and they ordered clean sheets, but as far as I was concerned I didn't want to spend another moment in the room. In addition, the fluffy white robe had a huge yellow stain over the front of the robe. The two incidents made staying at the Inn quite unpleasant. The town is beautiful but I recommend staying elsewhere until management improves the bathroom tiles and makes sure sheets and robes are not stained or unclean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
264
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived a day early to Santa Barbara and we were given a room on the ground floor which was lovely - it was small but very nicely laid out. The patio outside the room and seating was lovely and the pool very small but very well kept. The staff are fantastic and the location across from the West beach cannot be beaten - we loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. Wine and Cheese was a nice touch in the evening and the breakfast was really lovely.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived after a long days drive to find free wine and snacks early evening(what a nice welcome even if theyre served in plastic cups)
The rooms were small but spotless and very comfortable,
free parking and soooo close to the beach it was wonderful.
In reality its a motel with few facilities and the pool is tiny and was full of kids and people consuming free wine ,you are paying for the position though..a short walk to the main street and the pier and beach but quiet.helpful staff.Breakfast is the smallest buffet with everyone sharing three tables! in a tiny reception area.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wine & Cheese everyday poolside! Convenient to State Street, Marina & Harbor, Stearns Wharf, Beach Walk/Bike Path; Bike, Kayak, Stand-up Paddleboard & Sailboat rentals; Restaurants - don't miss TOMA for dinner, SAMBOS for breakfast, BROPHY BROS for fresh seafood - Garlic Baked Clams...Dungeness Crab...Ceviche...Cioppino; Amazing views of harbor & mountains; lovely variety of delicious fresh-baked pastries, fresh fruit & yogurt everyday; Large heated pool & Hot tub; Friendly & helpful staff; Luxurious pillows, mattress & linens; The 24-Hour complimentary fresh lemon water in the lobby was such a nice touch! We'll be back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Harbor view or 2-Bedroom Suite (Bath St) sunrise view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie08034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was very clean (except the window frames/sills). A lot of attention paid to very small details in terms of exterior appearances. The staff were amazing. I had a "Garden Room" on the 2nd Floor. The room was clean w/contemporary furnishings. The room and bed were small (for the price), (for the price of a Marriott you expect a little more space-but this worked for our needs). The closet was huge and inexplicably had no door which detracted a little from the feel of the room. The disappointments: the window air conditioner is very loud and you have to set to 60 to cool the room (which never got below about upper 70's in the afternoon). If we didn't put the do not disturb sign out when away, the cleaning/turn down crew turned the AC off and opened the windows-letting out all the "cool" that was stored up for our return so we would always return to a hot and humid room (bleh). This hotel is walking distance to most everything you would want to see in SB.

Room Tip: The Garden "Suite" (I was not in this one but overheard another guest)- no windows that op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SliderSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed there on a Friday night (one night only - no 2 night min. like others) and loved it. It was far nicer than a usual "mote"l with lots of extra touches usually found in a more upscale resort. The room was large and included nice furnishings, down pillows, robes and was VERY clean. The staff was very helpful both in advance of our trip and upon arrival. I would absolutely return!

Room Tip: See about the harbor view rooms with the terrace. Nice and not much more than we were quoted for a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at this hotel while in Sanata Barbara for a wedding. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel is located right across from the beach. Great Happy Hour and good breakfast. I highly recommend a stay of any length at the West Beach Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing