We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our choice”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very happy with our choice”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is very clean and pleasant. We have a wonderful view of the beach and the harbor. All the staff are very friendly. We especially say thank you to Ramon who helped us with our luggage to our room. Santa Barbara is a very beautiful city, don't miss the Mission if you visit. Beds are soooooo comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
264
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As other reviews gave said, the location is great. Dinner at Brophy Bros, running on bike trail along beach, walking distance to Reality Church at SBCC. We even took a drive to Island Packers in Oxnard for a whale watching boat trip.

Ed, the evening office staff person, does a great job and is an excellent conversationalist. Ask him about the "no-leash" parks, including Skofield Park.

BTW, SBA airport is a great small airport to fly into.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is directly across from the marina and beach. The pier is a 5 minute walk. Our room was a "marina view" with a private, roomy balcony with chairs. Beautiful view!!! There is a well maintained pool and spa in a private area. The lobby has fresh coffee available 24/7 and a nice continental breakfast available in the morning. The staff hosts an afternoon wine & cheese buffet that is nice touch after you've settled in you room. Don't miss going to the ORIGINAL Sambo's Restaurant just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Staff was pleasant & helpful. Easy access to downtown Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Go for the marina view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

There are several small inns and hotels in the area. We've stayed at another, which we loved but selected this one for it's proximity to the beach and marina. We were pleasantly surprised in that wr could have paid more for a nearby property, but we're not sure it would have been better. From the moment Ramon checked us in and explained the property, it feels like an inn, rather than a chain hotel. The grounds are beautiful, with pools, orange trees and a courtyard.

The afternoon wine and cheese is best enjoyed poolside.

Breakfast is beyond continental, with a selection of bakery-fresh pastries and bagels, apples, oranges and bananas, a selection of box cereals, instant oatmeal, 3 kinds of juice, coffee and a variety of teas.

We received an upgrade upon checkin. I'm not sure why since the hotel had no vacancy the second of our 3-night stay. Room 314 is on the top floor overlooking the pool, and this time of year, you can enjoy a most spectacular sunrise from the balcony, watching the sunlight creep above the ocean until it explodes on the horizon. The rooms are exceptionally clean. The bright green duvets brighten the room. Beds are perfectly comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. The carpet is older, but not bad. There's more than enough space, coffee maker, mini-fridge and quality toiletries. Parking is free and plentiful, which is nice because the area is busy on weekends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerAndBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a sort of motel style hotel which seems to be the local style. It's a good location right on the beach, and about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Santa Barbara. Rooms are a good size and clean. Free wi-fi and plenty of parking. Buffet style breakfast whiich is fine. No bar or option to dine in the evenings, which is unusual if you're from Europe, but standard for the area. Small pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

By the beach - close to the pier - good quality rooms - on-site free parking - wifi - good continental breakfast - excellent cheese & wine early evening. What more could anyone want? Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel service we had on our trip to SoCal. Front desk was very helpful and informative. Free breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese, wi-fi, cable, heated pool, parking -- all very good and included in the price. Location was excellent. Only complaint is that the rooms were a little "tired", but they were still comfortable and clean. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shackelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing