We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the West Beach Inn on February 11, 2008. The weather during our stay in Santa Barbara and California in general was outstanding with warm breezes and bright blue skies.

The hotel property is in a nice location, right across from the marina/harbor. The hotel reminds me of an older apartment building that was rehabbed and turned into a hotel. All guests enter their rooms from the rear of the hotel facing the parking lot. Parking is free, which is a plus considering you're in California.

The rooms are well decorated and quite comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and we had a LG flat screen TV with lots of cable channels. The bathrooms have double sinks. The rooms also have a small refrigerator.

Our room was on the second floor and had a nice balcony, facing Cabrillo Street and the harbor/marina and also overlooked the pool/hot tub. The hotel property is also surroundered by large, skinny palm trees, flowers and fruit trees.

The main drag, which is State Street is about 2 blocks from the hotel and you can walk to downtown, or you can take the trolley. State Street is where the majority of the shops, galleries and restaurants are located.

The hotel offers a nice complimentary breakfast with coffee, juices, cereal, muffins and bagels etc. We did not take advantage of the nightly wine and cheese tasting, which is also offered.

The only problem that we encountered is that the hotel didn't have my reservation, which I had for 4 months. Evidently, this hotel and many others now use a 3rd party reservation web service for booking their reservations and the web service the hotel uses simply lost my reservation and didn't forward it to the West Beach Inn.

Fortunately, there was plenty of vacancies, so we still got our room, but make sure that you confirm your reservations directly with the hotel front desk before arriving.

Santa Barbara is a very beautiful, laid back part of California with lots of shops, galleries, wineries etc. to explore not to mention all of the ocean adventures that are available. It's very easy to see why they call Santa Barbara the 'American Riveria", with it 's gorgeous mountains, ocean vistas and warm temperatures.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the West Beach Inn and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, comfort of the rooms.
  • Disliked — They lost my reservation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank racer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We had a King, Oceanview room on the third floor, with a balcony overlooking the harbor, beach, and Stearn's Wharf. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, everything was clean and well-maintained, and staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Decor was fresh and attractive, there was a desk/table that had enough room for us to have our breakfast and our wine and cheese, which we preferred to bring back to our room. The pool area was very clean and was sheilded from the wind, and the water temerature in the pool was nice and warm. The hot tub was spacious and comfortable.

We enjoyed the terry-cloth robes that were provided, and the little evening mints.

Housekeeping was very good, and we appreciated that they didn't come knocking early in the morning.

The grounds were attractive and well-maintained.

We were easily able to walk to some good restaurants,(especially liked Santa Barbara Shellfish Co.), the harbor and the wharf, and State St. is just a few minutes drive away. Even the attractions further away (Natural History Museum, Mission, and Botanic Gardens) were easily accessible by car.

We had a very nice, relaxing time at the West Beach Inn and would definitely return.

  • Liked — Waterfront location with easy access to restaurnats, movies, cultural attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway from
Downtown L.A. It is a nice litte spot very close to all the hotspots. You got the beach and wharf across the street, State stree is just about 2 blocks over, and a nice updated room. Rooms have 30 something inch flat screens! Continental breakfast is the usual, but good. Definitely recommend for the price and location.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rudawg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Wonderful experience! Our standard room with a garden view was quite elegant. The room was very clean, the neighborhood was quiet, and the beach was right across the street. The evening front desk staff were very courteous and helpful to us. The continental breakfast was good (I wish there were more hot foods though), and the evening wine and cheese tasting added quite a nice touch (although I wish the wines and cheeses were labeled). Very good accommodations/service/ammenities and quite affordable, especially after AAA discount.

  • Liked — Ammenities: swimming pool, whirlpool, evening wine & cheese tasting, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — appearance on outside seems a bit shabby
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geniejava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We arrived at the West Beach Inn late at night on Friday, August 11, 2006 and stayed through the13th. It would have been a nice stay as the rooms were decent, the pool was nice and they had a wine/cheese reception.
Unfortunately, things went downward because our bathroom drain was clogged. We were only staying for two nights for our wedding anniversary so we opted not to report it to the front office in favor of our privacy. However, in the middle of our stay, housekeeping noticed the drain problem and had someone come to repair it. We had gone into town for breakfast and when we got back, they were working on the room for at least an hour. We were unable to do anything like change in order to go to the beach. By the time they were done, the sun had started to set and the weather had cooled down too much for the beach to be enjoyable. I was disappointed since that was the only full day we had to enjoy our stay in Santa Barbara.
We decided to complain to the manager because we got a defective room. We felt that the drainage problem should've either been corrected before our arrival when housekeeping cleaned the room after the last person's checkin or they should have notified us of the necessity to repair it and asked when a convenient time to fix it would be. Neither was done and we were inconvenienced by the long time it took to take care of the drain. Instead of apologizing, the manager proceeded to yell at us and implied we were crazy for not having wanted the drains fixed right away even if it meant inconveniencing us.
I'm not a hard to please person, I was ok with the drains not working because I knew the stay was not going to be long. I just wanted to be able to enjoy the time I had there instead of waiting for a repair man to leave the room before I could use the restroom.
I wrote a letter to the hotel's owners/management company (Coast Hotels) and heard nothing back. So much for customer service. It's a shame because it would have been a nice stay if not for the lousy management.
From the looks of it, there's another review from someone else from the same weekend we stayed there that gave this place a 1 star rating. Must've been a bad weekend... hopefully, they've cleaned up their act and this won't happen again to anyone else, but I'm never staying there again!

  • Liked — the proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — the management. awful. just awful.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank voyezlemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We were in montecito for a wedding and disregarded the recommendation to stay in montecito for the night and we very happy in the end. The other guests always came to meet us for dinner and brunch on lively state street and for walks along the beach. The room was much nicer than expected and competetive for the pricey santa barbara area. Very comfortable bed, nifty clock radio we could attach the ipod to and tasty seattle's best coffee in the room. We missed the breakfast but there was always coffee and fresh fruit in the lobby. Biggest disappointment was the wine and cheese that was out as we checked in. It was a pleasant surpise to see it available but the wine was terrible. We were not expecting much and even some 2 buck chuck would do the trick but this was undrinkable...and a disappointment. Still, overall it was a very pleasant, comfortable and convenient stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ishmael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My husband and I recently honeymooned at the West Beach, and we were more than happy with them!! Friendly staff, manicured grounds, beautiful updated rooms, his/hers robes provided, great view if you go with the Ocean View room (go for the second or third floor for the balcony and the view!!). There was also a wine and cheese reception in the lobby every evening, and State Street and the Wharf are minutes away. Hollywood and Beverly Hills are only about a 2 hour drive - but we recommend taking the PCH through Malibu!! We would definitely stay there again!!
-Mr & Mrs Harrington - Michigan

  • Liked — Cleanliness and View
  • Disliked — Cleaning staff was a bit pushy!! ;-)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yolanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing