We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in a harbor view room (2 adults 2 children). The location is great 5 mins walk up 2 stearns wharf directly facing beach. Area was safe with plenty of restaurants nearby.
A trolley leaves stearns wharf every 15 mins & for 25cent will take you up state street. This was a great service and we used it both evenings.
Check in was quick and receptionist was helpful with info. Our room was in the older wing if the hotel but it was fine. Room was big with 2 king sized beds and a big balcony with table n chairs. Only complaint was the small fridge was not working properly but there was an ice machine on our floor and the tea/coffee making facilities were in the bathroom; had to move them to make room for toiletries (not a big deal).
There is a laundry room here but do not use it my clothes came out with more stains than when I had put them in!
The pool area is nice, small but never had a problem getting a lounger. Breakfast is set up in reception area and is fine for something that is included. Tea/coffee/juice, fruit, yogurt, cereals, bread and pastries. We were there early and it was fine to move around but would hate to see it with more than 4 people in the area at same time.
Parking was free and there was always a spot. The hotel grounds were well maintained and even though I could have got cheaper accommodation further up State street but I knew I'd made the right choice with west beach inn when I saw how far away from stearns wharf and the beach they were.
State street is fantastic I would happily walk up and down here all
day, great shops, bars and
restaurants and the outdoor
shopping mall is adorable.
Do not stay here if u want fancy 4/5 star hotel DO stay here if u want a fantastic location, clean spacious rooms with free parking and complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 530 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just had to take a minute to let people know that this hotel was great! It has great staff, Spa Pool was so nice to soak in after long walks on the beach that is just a few steps away. They helped print out some of my local Groupon Deals at no charge (hey you don't get that at the big hotels). Fresh bagels, danish, and fruit in the a.m with light conversation from staff about local attractions. One of the guys gave us an awesome reccomendation for a local eatery and even gave us free dessert coupons! For two girls on a budget we were extremely happy with everything and the value. Beds were pretty comfortable and the courtyard that our balcony looked out over was beautiful! Would stay there again hands down. If you are thinking about booking a room do it early as they fill up especially during the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseofWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was fabulous and the staff was so nice! The last two years we ended up in crap holes, but west beach was so wonderful. We will be booking there every summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback! We make every effort to exceed your expectations and love to hear our guests leave happy. That makes it all worth it! We look forward to seeing you next year on your visit to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and the hotel itself is pleasant enough & the staff are friendly. Room was fine with a very comfy bed and alll amenities ok although shower pressure could have been stronger.
However, the reason I wouldn't recommend staying here is the noise. On the 1st night, we were kept awake by horns blaring from boats across the road in the harbour every 10 seconds or so from 2am to 6am. On the 2nd night, I was woken up twice by noisy guests talking outside our room. A couple were sat on the stairs smoking and chatting so loudly at 4am that I could hear every word of their conversation and had to go outside in my PJ's to ask them to be quiet! The 3rd night the horns from the ships started again....
Also, there is road noise which is quite distracting whether you are in your room or sat by the pool. We paid extra for a harbour view room but I actually wonder if we would have had a better and quieter experience if we had picked a standard room away from the road. The view also was more of a car park than the beach!
So no fault of the staff who were pleasant & helpful but I think if i came to SB again, i would save my money and pick a cheaper hotel further back from the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and amenities. The Front Desk, Houskeeping and Maintenance staff all try hard to provide a comfortable setting for our out of town visitors and guests.
Unfortunately the Marine layer seems to settle into Santa Barbara in June. In fact, it even has it's own name "June Gloom". Because of that, the Fog Horn in the Harbor, protecting the fishermen who are bringing in the fresh seafood to all of our local restaurants, probably goes off on a more consistent basis that month than usual. I am sorry that it affected your stay with us. Typically we are quite spoiled here across from the harbor with our annual 72 degree weather. It really is Paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a room on the second floor overlooking the garden. The room was a good size and was very clean and well maintained (apart from the bathtub/shower in the bathroom which took an eternity to drain - obviously needed unblocking....).
The complementary breakfast each morning and cheese and wine late afternoon were nice touches - as was the complementary fresh coffee and fruit at all times.
Bathroom accessories were lovely, there were plenty of towels and there was a decent hairdryer in the room for guests to use (a rarity in US hotels...)
The pool and spa were very clean and kept at a lovely temperature.
If I have anything negative to say about the West Beach it would be that the air conditioning unit was a bit dated and noisy but as the weather was pretty dull when we were there it wasn't really an issue.
The staff are very friendly and helpful - special mention to Margaret (a fellow Scot...) the manageress and the chap behind Reception who let me use the computer to check in for our return flight home to the UK. Much appreciated!!
Finally - we seriously recommend the Harbour Restaurant on Stearns Wharf if you are looking for a fabulous meal in a lovely setting. Pricey - but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful four night stay in Santa Barbara at the West Beach Inn. I cannot express how helpful and pleasant all the employees were. Our room was lovely. It was very spacious and appeared to be recently renovated.....new linens, drapes, and bathroom fixtures. Clean as could be and really lovely.

We greatly enjoyed the breakfast. Good coffee and nice fresh fruit and pastries. I wish we could have stayed for a month!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

very nice, clean, great staff, fabulous location across the street from the beach and by the harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,096 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $168 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing