We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Rosa Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Novato
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a wonderful place with charm, it was not the Hilton, but that wasn't what we were looking for. I wanted a small friendly place. Very romantic place. Just across the street from the beach. Breakfast was much more then expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    76
    42
    31
    58
See reviews for
35
141
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Doing the west coast touristy drive, stopped for an overnighter at SB. Was recommended the villa rosa inn by the tourist bureau. Found it to be a quaint little establishment. nice warm comfortable rooms, nice breakfast, nice afternoon wine and cheese, great location, and room was a reasonable price. Smallish bathroom etc. Not the Hyatt but with its own charms.

Overall found SB to be a really nice place, quite arty, and beautiful location, so plan to return someday for a longer stay.

PROS- Price, comfort, location
CONS- nine really

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NadsNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place was a disaster. Horrible customer interactions and old smelly rooms for $300+ per night. A Real Rip Off. Planned to stay longer and checked out early (a real disappointment....)

This hotel reflects badly on the whole Santa Barbara experience. You might do better picking a different destination all together.

Room Tip: Stay away from La Rosa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

studio city california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

it is unbelievable the type of people coming into this establishment. they are loud, drunk, and unruly most of the time, screaming and carrying on like apes. i cannot believe anyone with a brain would stay here. hookers down the street as well!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deborah796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel. It was the first time we stayed in the cottages, which I have to admit were lovely. At 5pm they have free wine and cheese which was absolutely superb. There was a good choice at the continental breakfeasts in the morning and the ladys on reception were super helpfull.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theBurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in room #17. When we arrived, the Inn's outward appearance is quaint and inviting. Once inside, the lobby area was cozy and nicely appointed. After checking in, we proceeded to climb the interior stairs towards our room. There was an ever increasing feeling that the Inn was well worn and in need of maintenance work. This became more evident as we notice stains and scrapes on the walls, a wooden chair in corridor with a broken arm rest, and an ever present musty smell emanating from the carpeting.

We entered our room and with one look were very disappointed with it. It was dingy and stuffy. For $199 per night it did not come close to the level of quality or spaciousness we expected from a room at this price. We have stayed in rooms at half the price that were more spacious, and better appointed than this room. The worse part of all was the bathroom. It was the smallest and most cramped we have ever encountered. There is only one sink with little counter space along with plumbing exposed underneath. The toilet is located in narrow slot next to the shower wall and when sitting on it, your face is practically hitting the bathroom door. The tub/shower is a joke and is entered through a narrow opening right in front of the toilet. The tub portion is about half the width and length of a standard tub and the shower handles are located on the side wall instead of on the front like most showers. If you're not careful you will hit your leg or backside on them if you turn round in the shower.

The room has a small balcony and is barely large enough for two people. One of the chairs had tiles missing from the seat area and one leg of one chair was bent inward making it unstable. There is no air conditioning in the room. There is a small ceiling fan and a portable electric fan, but on a warm day, they will not keep you very comfortable. We had to keep the balcony doors open all the time to get cooler air into the room. Since the balcony overlooks the pool area, you will hear all the noise when people are using it.

The only positive about the Villa Rosa Inn was it's location in town to the beach, shopping, and restraints. Otherwise, it's just an over priced and low quality facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellflower
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

description on line including pictures were misleading. The staff was less then friendly and the overall inn was dark, cold, and very noisy. The wine and cheese reception was terrible with cheap wine and less than adequate food choices. It was not a lobby that you wanted to hang out at. Would not recommend nor would I stay there again. Price was high for what you get.

Room Tip: only saw rooms on the ground floor so I don't know about upstairs of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runnerhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Inn

Property: Villa Rosa Inn
Address: 15 Chapala Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Rosa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Rosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing