We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the room for the price paid”
Review of Villa Rosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rosa Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
rocklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the room for the price paid”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in room #17. When we arrived, the Inn's outward appearance is quaint and inviting. Once inside, the lobby area was cozy and nicely appointed. After checking in, we proceeded to climb the interior stairs towards our room. There was an ever increasing feeling that the Inn was well worn and in need of maintenance work. This became more evident as we notice stains and scrapes on the walls, a wooden chair in corridor with a broken arm rest, and an ever present musty smell emanating from the carpeting.

We entered our room and with one look were very disappointed with it. It was dingy and stuffy. For $199 per night it did not come close to the level of quality or spaciousness we expected from a room at this price. We have stayed in rooms at half the price that were more spacious, and better appointed than this room. The worse part of all was the bathroom. It was the smallest and most cramped we have ever encountered. There is only one sink with little counter space along with plumbing exposed underneath. The toilet is located in narrow slot next to the shower wall and when sitting on it, your face is practically hitting the bathroom door. The tub/shower is a joke and is entered through a narrow opening right in front of the toilet. The tub portion is about half the width and length of a standard tub and the shower handles are located on the side wall instead of on the front like most showers. If you're not careful you will hit your leg or backside on them if you turn round in the shower.

The room has a small balcony and is barely large enough for two people. One of the chairs had tiles missing from the seat area and one leg of one chair was bent inward making it unstable. There is no air conditioning in the room. There is a small ceiling fan and a portable electric fan, but on a warm day, they will not keep you very comfortable. We had to keep the balcony doors open all the time to get cooler air into the room. Since the balcony overlooks the pool area, you will hear all the noise when people are using it.

The only positive about the Villa Rosa Inn was it's location in town to the beach, shopping, and restraints. Otherwise, it's just an over priced and low quality facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    80
    44
    31
    60
See reviews for
37
144
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bellflower
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

description on line including pictures were misleading. The staff was less then friendly and the overall inn was dark, cold, and very noisy. The wine and cheese reception was terrible with cheap wine and less than adequate food choices. It was not a lobby that you wanted to hang out at. Would not recommend nor would I stay there again. Price was high for what you get.

Room Tip: only saw rooms on the ground floor so I don't know about upstairs of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runnerhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was a decent stay for a decent price. The cottages are next to the inn and aren't amazing but are decent. For the price, the location can't be beat. You're RIGHT next to State St and the beach.

The cottage itself is nice. Has a room heater and a fridge + microwave. It even has a nice little deck. But the walls are thin - so if there's a party nearby either you'll be up partying or up hearing them. The bath tub was HUGE but we ran out of hot water to fill it :(

The inn itself is nice - so you get access to the breakfast and wine. Plus there's always snacks. They also give you a parking permit so you can park on the street. They also have cucumber water which is always refreshing.

It's a great place if you want a reasonably priced room and can sleep through some noise. If not, don't stay there.

Room Tip: The Inn's prices in the main hotel are probably nicer - but not sure if they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanandreasfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I find the reviews posted on Trip Advisor to be somewhat paradoxical and even at odds with other travel reviews I have read about this facility which are generally far more favourable in their tone.

We picked this facility because of location and numerous favourable reviews elsewhere. We were travelling by train and the Villa Rosa is less than two blocks from the Amtrak station, close to the water and a block of State Street. So far as access and convenience, it gets top marks. The room we stayed in (9), was clean, well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The breakfast which is included in the tariff, is continental and quite ample and we found the afternoon wine and cheese reception more than acceptable - quite enjoyable in fact. There are some negatives posted concerning the fact that the wines were for the most part Australian and not California. While I agree that there are excellent California wines, I find nothing objectionable about Australian wines in the slightest and in fact on a dollar basis for comparison, I often find them superior knowing that I have doubtless offended some California wine afficionados.

We did find the staff young and inexpereinced and perhaps they were university or college students for whom this is a "job" and we did not find them particularly well versed in the finer points of customer service. That said, we would certainly stay at this facility on a future visit to Santa Barbara given our experience and the fact that it is indeed very good value for the money.

Room Tip: We would recommend the rooms on second floor and ours (9) on the NE corner of the building was super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We wanted to get away for a few days and decided Santa Barbara was the place. So we booked Amtrak out of LA and found the Villa Rosa on the Google. The great thing is that it is literally 3 blocks from the Amtrak station & half a block to the beach. We stayed in room 5 which was spacious and sunny. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good restaurants in easy walking distance. Shuttle into downtown is 25¢ . Great trip and didn't break the bank! Next time will book a room on the 2nd floor to reduce the noise (room 5 is next to the parking lot!).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan4093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at this inn. Upon entering, it looks very comfy and cute. However, when we got to our room, a bit disappointing. The wall lamps were just about to fall off the wall! We
Probably should of told manager, but we had another issue and we forgot. The room was ok clean, furniture needed to be replaced, badly scratched. The more we looked around it was
evident that the whole place was a little run down. The architecture is Spanish, and I could see
so much possibilities. The continental breakfast was adequate.
The issue we had was that the cleaning lady spilled a bottle of water on my hardcover book, and
It wasn't even mine. The manager did give us money for a replacement of this book, so we were
Happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USCwino_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Where do I begin.....
We came to Santa Barbara for a bachelorette party with nine ladies last year in October. Half of us arrived in the afternoon to try for an early check-in. We were greeted with the less than enthusiastic front desk staff who said they only had one reservation (we reserved two cottages for the weekend). The issue was finally settled after some time, but not without some attitude from the young lady 'helping' us. Our reservation was there, she just didn't see it. And that wouldn't have even been an issue except that her attitude could have been a lot better. Finally, we were led to the rooms where, I can say without any hesitation, the sheer horror of the dated decor and cigarette butts laying around outside the front door caused me to stop dead in my tracks. I thought, hoped, wished this was a terrible joke. But it wasn't. There was an iron burn on the linoleum flooring in the 'kitchen'. The placed looked like it hadn't ever been updated since it was built. Our view consisted of a courtyard with garage sale-like junk strewn about. A moldy couch, old patio furniture and a few other "treasures" littered the yard. I was appalled to say the least and couldn't wait to check out of that dump.
The only good thing about this place is the location. It's about a block from the sand and walking distance to shops which makes it enjoyable. But those two pluses do not make up for everything else.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Inn

Property: Villa Rosa Inn
Address: 15 Chapala St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3507
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Rosa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Rosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing