We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Booked two rooms here with family at short notice. Both rooms were very well furnished, comfortable and spacious. Presidential king had a lovely balcony with views, but being nearer the road was a little noisy - but nothing serious. Very welcoming and a bonus modest continental breakfast. Recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Castillo Inn at the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 847 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is basically a motel near the beach (which is just across the main road - easy walking). Warm welcome, comfortable room and a pleasant basic breakfast of cakes and fruit available in reception before we left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed as we drove up the PCH. We drove here from LAX as the starting point of our drive and were hungry, tired, and overjoyed to find this little hotel lived up to our expectations created by all of the positive trip advisor reviews. We had the King Balcony room and though there was some street noise due to its location at the front of the complex, I loved being able to breakfast on the balcony and the room itself was comfortable and roomy. Desk help was friendly and dispensed good advice and the scones, muffins, fresh fruit and beverages made for a delightful breakfast. Can't praise this place enough and look forward to a time when I can go back and spend more than just one night.

Room Tip: Expect some road noise if you book the King Balcony room over the lobby, but for me, it was worth it...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianedee301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I lived in Santa Barbara for a year and my wife grew up here so we know the area very well. For the price this place was great! It is not the four seasons, nor does it claim to be, but it is very well priced and it is in a good location.

The rooms were very clean and the staff was helpful, don't think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donk730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

More than we expected. A very clean, well orgainzied motel close to Marina and the beach. Dan the resident manager runs a very tight ship in this small well located motel.
When we arrived it was not what we were expecting, it was not an "Inn" as we imagined, but a motel. However our opinions quickly chnaged.
The young woman who checked us in was charming and hepful with advice on nearby restaurants (see review for Toma).
The room is large well organized, clean: the beds were comfortable, there is free wifi and a continental breakfast served in the lobby again another surprise.
The continental breakfast is set up in the lobby, and consists of muffins, scones (which we learned are prepared by the young woman who checked us in), coffee, and fresh fruit. The expectaion is you will select items and return to the room.
The surprise...?, on first blush the scones and muffins looked just so so, likley baked days ago, but they were indeed freshly prepared and very tasty ( and that is from my expert scone making wife).
The stay is enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of Dan and his able assistant, who offered great advice on what to see, where to eat, and about all things Santa Barbara.
Bottom line : yes would stay again, and on scale of 1 - 10 would you recommend friends and family to stay: 9

Room Tip: rooms on same side as office were very quiet, and had patio
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The location is one of the best things about this hotel - right across the street from the harbor and within walking distance to othere restaurants and the wharf. The room was very spacious with several drawers to store your clothes. The bathroom was very small. We did not like the heating unit which was directly over the bed. We couldn't get the temperature quite right. Could have been operator error. The bed was super comfortable! The hotel has free wi-fi and a continental breakfast with pastries, fruit, coffee, hot chocolate and many juices to choose from. The tv was defective in that the screen had some sort of marking on it. The remote had sticky buttons. We didn't complain because we were only there two nights. Maid service was excellent and front desk personnel friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHumuhumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our daughter recommended this hotel and we are so glad we took her advice. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the wharf. We stayed in the section that was all one story units. Our room was like a little cottage with a little private patio out the back. It was a spacious room with inviting decor with a comfy bed, plantation shutters and little sitting area for TV viewing. The bathroom was really gorgeous for this type of hotel. The man at the front desk was very informative and helpful. The minimal continental breakfast was just drinks, muffins and fruit from the office that we took to the patio outside of our room. Was very relaxing. A walk to the wharf for dinner from this hotel makes it a great location as well as great value. I would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio for a relaxing breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $142 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing