We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The inn is in a good location, only a block from the harbour. The front desk clerk was very helpful and we enjoyed the continental breakfast. The only thing missing was a pool. There are quite a few similar inns along the same road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 863 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was in SB on business for one night and stayed at Castillo based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was very reasonably priced, the rooms are average size, parking and wifi are free. There are three rooms that are a short distance from the street, # 10, 11 and 12. I was in 12 and it was a little too noisy for me. Other than that, the room was clean and had a small refrigerator. Bathroom updated. They advertise a continental breakfast which consists of muffins, fruit, coffee and juices. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDanvilleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Inexpensive stay for one night. It was nice to be able to park right outside your room with no charge, the room was satisfactory, the bathroom was updated but small, I was hitting my elbow just trying to blow dry my hair, a short walk to the wharf, the owner was helpful and gave us a map, it was quiet until about 5:30 am when the trucks from the main road started getting noisy. I saw they were putting out some afternoon scones, which is a nice touch. We had booked 2 queen beds with a patio, the patio was laughable, you open up a door to reveal 2 chairs sitting on stones with 3 walls of fence around you, very tiny basically almost in the parking lot of the business next door, talk about feeling trapped, they would have been better off leaving the fence down so you could see something. Basically for our group it was just a bed to sleep in for one night, if I was looking to spend more than one night in town I would prefer to pay extra and have something more modern.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillydonut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A simple, no frills but very high quality place in Santa Barbara. Staff very good, rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast is self-serve continental style in the reception, so more a 'take away' type breakfast but does the job. A good walk into the main part of town but not too far, and it's right on the beach which is great.

Room Tip: All pretty good and spacious from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jag381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stop in Santa Barbara. On arrival the staff were very helpfull and attentive to our needs and questions. The hotel itself was clean, tidy and the bed was the most comfortable i experienced in America. Free parking was also a bonus. The location is a short walk to the beach and a normal walk to the heart. The price was very good for the area as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Castillo Inn was luckily available during our summer getaway in mid August. Located close to the city center of SB where everything is walkable (restaurants, shopping, bars, and the beach). The rooms are spacious and our queen bed had a sofa pull out which is enough room for 4 people and the restroom was spacious too. A small grab and go breakfast was included which is perfect since I'm not a breakfast type of person and left plenty of room for the delicious seafood that surrounds them. Also book a tour with Dee Tours to hit up wineries and such. Everyone was really nice and informative.

The only thing that didn't really work was the WiFi internet.Maybe my room was too far from the router?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Duncan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stunning location just across from harbour and near State Street. Accommodation was a beautiful 2 bedroomed apt, immaculate with fully fitted kitchen. Luxurious toiletries provided. Dan the manager was a lovely host with helpful recommendations of area.... can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $112 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing