We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Castillo Inn on our way to Hearst Castle. It was very conveniently located to shops and restaurants and the waterfront. We got the room upstairs that other reviewers have written about and it was very nice. Beautiful room, beautiful bathroom, just a really nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne11109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    283
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
190
488
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was large and comfortable. Decorated beautifully. We arrived very late after office closed. We had a reservation and knew we would be arriving late, we called the manager. He was very kind and left our key under the mat. The next morning at breakfast, he asked how we where doing and how late we arrived. Continental breakfast was better than average. Tasted like bakery quality rolls. Very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I used Santa Barbara as a stopover on our trip to Big Sur. We were pleasantly surprised with this accidental find. Santa Barbara is a hidden gem, and if you go, you must stay at Castillo Inn! Great price, great location, great continental breakfast, and Dan gave us a ton of awesome tips about navigating through SB. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocofoodowineoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked as part of our lv, coastal highway to sf trip. Due to Sunday afternoon traffic leaving vegas and heading towards la we had an extremely slow journey which meant we didn't check in until 11 pm.
We collapsed into an extremely comfortable bed and left again by around 8am. Wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel and Santa Barbara were both beautiful.
Lovely pastries and coffee as complimentary breakfast.
The manager was very friendly and helpful. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twebster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way from LA to San Francisco via the Pacific Coast Highway. We were very pleased with the location within easy walking distance of the beach. Our room was very attractive and comfortable, definitely a step up from a typical motel! We enjoyed the sitting area as well as the private outdoor patio. The continental breakfast was nice, we took muffins and coffee back to our room and sat outside on the patio. We'd stay here again without question!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shera1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here because of the positive reviews on tripadvisor however the girl on reception when we arrived was not helpful (no welcome smile, apology for ignoring us when we arrived let alone general chit chat, no information about where to come for breakfast, get ice, drinking water etc no information about things we might want to do in the area.) and when we went back to reception a little later to ask for some specific advice she was nowhere to be seen despite standing in reception waiting for some time. The room was decently furnished and comfortable. The motel was easy to walk to from the station and relatively close to the beach. The breakfast was a bit of a misnomer as it consisted of sweet muffins, apples, coffee and bottled drinks.Continental breakfasts I have had in the past consist of considerably more than this. As someone has said elsewhere, we were disappointed the pool access mentioned online is not near the premises and cost extra. This should be clearer. Again as has been mentioned elsewhere we were not really as impressed with Santa Barbara as we had expected as it was not as pretty or interesting as we had been expecting with the beach near the motel being covered in places with something like seaweed. Overall a disappointing stay and one that we would not repeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanB5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for one night on our road trip stop over in sunny Santa Barbara. The rooms are gorgeous, location great for beach, 15 min walk to down town. Little bit of luxury as described by other reviewers at a price that won't break the bank. Enjoy it if you can!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirazWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing