We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbeatable in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable in price, location, service and cleanliness combined. Short walk to shops, some of the best restaurants in town, and the beach! Reasonably priced for the service that they offer. You even have a fair selection of cold breakfast included in the price. One of the best hotels I've stayed in California in this price range.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Azaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    283
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
190
488
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Easy to walk to beach and town from here. The pier (the wharf) is about a 15 min walk.

Room was very large, no 12, bed extremely comfortable and tv was huge. Breakfast was in the lobby and you could take it back to your room. Receptionist was helpful and gave dinner recommendation and tips on things to do.

Try the wine tasting on the wharf while the sun is setting over the palm trees at the beach.

Oh, I want to go back.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ningaloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great place to stay. Good position and had a great room (room 30). Dan Recommended a restaurant to us which was just around the corner and it was excellent. He also gave us directions for our next destination and a couple of things to see en-route.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel right next to the road. It was a bit noisy. Not the hotels fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitchhikersguid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I live in San Diego but have to come up to Santa Barbara for work once a month. I had stayed at just about every hotel in the area until I found the Castillo Inn. Have stayed here every trip now and wont stay anywhere else. The GM (Dan) is a character! Love the guy! Always helpful and friendly. The inn is very comfortable and has a marble bathroom which is very tasteful! Flatscreen tv, free wifi, fridge for you beverages or left-overs. This place is close to State St. & the pier. Walking distance to just about everywhere you want to go. The morning is always delightful as they have yummy scones & beverages to wake up to in the office. Thanks Castillo Inn! See ya soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a nice small hotel and very close to the beaches and restaurants. Our bed was comfy and the room had quiet air con we slept peacefully with no disturbances. The easy parking close to room doors was a help.

We found the pillows rather too firm for us with no choice of softer available. The lack of an acceptable breakfast was a problem – if you like cake and fruit then you will be ok – however we prefer toast and cereal at the very least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank youngfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a beautiful little hotel. Bed was wonderfully comfortable with nice bedding. The bathroom was better than ours at home and plush, long towels were provided. It was very quiet at night. I'm glad we chose the Castillo Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraAndPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's a fairly small hotel right around the corner from the harbor. The rooms are nicely furnished, up-to-date and have plenty of space. It's nice being able to park right near the rooms, especially if you've got young kids or heavy luggage to haul, or are just ready to crash! The only drawback, really, is that it's in a bit of a peculiar location, tucked behind a somewhat dated chain hotel. I recommend Sambo's down the street for an excellent breakfast, and later a swim at the huge public pool a block away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agrifolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing