We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a nice small hotel and very close to the beaches and restaurants. Our bed was comfy and the room had quiet air con we slept peacefully with no disturbances. The easy parking close to room doors was a help.

We found the pillows rather too firm for us with no choice of softer available. The lack of an acceptable breakfast was a problem – if you like cake and fruit then you will be ok – however we prefer toast and cereal at the very least.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank youngfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 851 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a beautiful little hotel. Bed was wonderfully comfortable with nice bedding. The bathroom was better than ours at home and plush, long towels were provided. It was very quiet at night. I'm glad we chose the Castillo Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraAndPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's a fairly small hotel right around the corner from the harbor. The rooms are nicely furnished, up-to-date and have plenty of space. It's nice being able to park right near the rooms, especially if you've got young kids or heavy luggage to haul, or are just ready to crash! The only drawback, really, is that it's in a bit of a peculiar location, tucked behind a somewhat dated chain hotel. I recommend Sambo's down the street for an excellent breakfast, and later a swim at the huge public pool a block away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agrifolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am not sure where else I would stay!! Ideally located 1/2 block from the beach, walking distance to State Street and Urban Wine Trail, only a few minutes walk to the Marina. Super clean rooms that are spacious and have a couch and very comfortable bed. Great service. Only thing I had an issue with was the wireless signal needs to be a bit stronger. But I wasn't on my computer much so that really wasn't an issue. Great value for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingHobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The inn location is perfect -- a short walk to the pier or marina and slightly longer walk to the downtown shopping area. Our room was in a quiet corner with a patio to relax in. The Brophy Brothers restaurant at the marina proved to be a great lunch recommendation and was also near the sailing ship for whale or seal watching tours.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the corner room with the nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found this hotel using Tripadvisor and it was all that people said it was. We stayed in one of the upgraded King rooms with a private patio. The room was large, very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was small but really beautiful with a soaking jetted tub. The patio was a nice place to relax in the morning with a cup of coffee. The location was within walking distance to the marina. It was one of the more enjoyable hotel stays we've had and we would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maycreekzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights in May, 2013. Upon arrival, I thought, "this is a cool old Route 66 type motel." It was that and so much more. The room was huge, and nicely appointed save for the lack of much in the way of wall decor. The king bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a couch in a nook, and a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathroom was a tad small, with only adequate counter space and a single sink. The linens were magnificent. Bed linens were soft and comfortable; the towels were wonderful. The bathroom featured a separate faucet which dispensed filtered water - I didn't have to use my Bobble to get good tasting water as I do in most hotels. The room also had a private patio with dining table and chairs as well as a chaise lounge. The room was quiet, remarkably clean and looked as sif it had been refurbished recently. Front desk staff was friendly and very accommodating. We arrived t 1:00 p.m., and knew we were early. Sure enough, our room had not yet been cleaned, but the desk clerk pulled the staff from another room and reassigned them to our room right away. In an hour, it was done. The location is wonderful - just a 1/2 block from the beach and harbor. It didn't hurt that the Oscar Meyer Wienermobile was parked in the parking lot for two days and the Wienermobile staff was allowing looks inside and giving away Wienermobile whistles. That was cute. Overall, this is one of the best hotels we've experienced, and we've been traveling the US for two years, staying in dozens of hotels in every price range. Excellent room, decent continental breakfast, coffee maker in the room, great linens, an air conditioner that worked well and made just enough noise to provide perfect "white noise" for sleeping. To make it perfect, it would have been nice if there were an actual closet instead of an armoire and if the TV had been positioned at the foot, instead of side of the bed. Overall, though, a wonderful experience, and we will definitely return when back in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $131 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing