We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best we've experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of the best we've experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights in May, 2013. Upon arrival, I thought, "this is a cool old Route 66 type motel." It was that and so much more. The room was huge, and nicely appointed save for the lack of much in the way of wall decor. The king bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a couch in a nook, and a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathroom was a tad small, with only adequate counter space and a single sink. The linens were magnificent. Bed linens were soft and comfortable; the towels were wonderful. The bathroom featured a separate faucet which dispensed filtered water - I didn't have to use my Bobble to get good tasting water as I do in most hotels. The room also had a private patio with dining table and chairs as well as a chaise lounge. The room was quiet, remarkably clean and looked as sif it had been refurbished recently. Front desk staff was friendly and very accommodating. We arrived t 1:00 p.m., and knew we were early. Sure enough, our room had not yet been cleaned, but the desk clerk pulled the staff from another room and reassigned them to our room right away. In an hour, it was done. The location is wonderful - just a 1/2 block from the beach and harbor. It didn't hurt that the Oscar Meyer Wienermobile was parked in the parking lot for two days and the Wienermobile staff was allowing looks inside and giving away Wienermobile whistles. That was cute. Overall, this is one of the best hotels we've experienced, and we've been traveling the US for two years, staying in dozens of hotels in every price range. Excellent room, decent continental breakfast, coffee maker in the room, great linens, an air conditioner that worked well and made just enough noise to provide perfect "white noise" for sleeping. To make it perfect, it would have been nice if there were an actual closet instead of an armoire and if the TV had been positioned at the foot, instead of side of the bed. Overall, though, a wonderful experience, and we will definitely return when back in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    247
    42
    6
    6
See reviews for
158
424
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
318 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed as the Castillo Inn for one night, but we would have liked to stay longer. The position of the hotel was perfect for us as we were going whale-watching the following day. The parking was plentiful, with easy access to the accommodation. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It had a nice seating area and there was a coffee machine, fridge and wifi. The complimentary continental breakfast was an added bonus with a nice selection of fresh fruits, juices, pastries and hot drinks. When we asked if we could collect the car later in the day we were told that it would be no problem at all. The guy on the front desk was really courteous and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location by the beach, clean, friendly, nicely appointed, and surprisingly quiet. Very reasonably priced. Take the $$ you saved on lodging and have a superb dinner right around the corner at Toma. The hotel staff recommended it, and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meglill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to take a spontaneous trip to Santa Barbara on Sat. May 4th. We used Trip Advisor to look for a reasonable hotel for later that evening. We started going down the list beginning with the #1 rated hotel in Santa Barbara. They had a last minute cancellation but the room was $500 for the night. I moved on to #2 and they also had a room but had to put me on hold to find out pricing? I hung up after about 5 mins. Next up was #3 - Castillo Inn. The word "bargain" caught my eye so I read on. Good reviews, clean, great location so I called. Spoke to Dan (I think). He said they had a room for about $200 a night. I booked it and we arrived a couple hours later. The hotel lived up to previous reviews. We staying in Room #10. The hotel was only a block from the beach and a park. The rooms were clean and smelled nice. It was well appointed with a small fridge, comfortable bed, desk area and nicely decorated bathroom. The bed was comfy and the air worked well. Dan was really helpful offering suggestions for restaurants and bars in the area. Plenty of parking. Its about a 20 minute walk to the center of State Street. We took a taxi back to the hotel later that evening since our feet were pretty tired from walking around State St. Excellent hotel and bargain. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1cabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The reviews said it all and we were not disappointed. The Inn is ideally located for the beach and close to the interstate 101 if you are travelling as we were. The rooms are compact and clean, with all you would expect from a good-quality hotel. You can even park outside your room. A light breakfast was also provided which set us up for a drive to SF. So, overall, this is a great choice in Santa Barbara. There are other hotels in SB offering more, but expect to pay double. Overall - Believe the reviews!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here in late March and experienced some amazing weather in Santa Barbara,we felt so blessed! This hotel is a block from the beach and a short walk to a park if you have children who need a quick swing and slide before hitting the sand! Staff was friendly and accommodating. We have children and as often as we remind them to keep their voices low or "don't run", we can't control every moment. The people next to our room were super friendly and understanding (we got lucky!). The interior renovations and use of materials was quite beautiful for such a small hotel. The bed was comfortable, and for a small hotel the rooms were laid out well for function and use of space. Great value. We were happy here.

Room Tip: Choose one with a back patio if you want some private outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesigningMamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We could only get one nights accommodation at this place & we were both really disappointed we couldn't get another night . Dan at the front desk certainly was a very helpful courteous person who gave us a great suggestion for dinner and also driving advice. Rooms are very large with a sitting area, fridge, desk area. Beds very comfy, breakfast was a very light continental but sufficient. Very accessible to the main downtown area. Great value for money & would highly recommend this place. We are now staying in another place close by for one night & room size is no match.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing