We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for Santa Barbara”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here in late March and experienced some amazing weather in Santa Barbara,we felt so blessed! This hotel is a block from the beach and a short walk to a park if you have children who need a quick swing and slide before hitting the sand! Staff was friendly and accommodating. We have children and as often as we remind them to keep their voices low or "don't run", we can't control every moment. The people next to our room were super friendly and understanding (we got lucky!). The interior renovations and use of materials was quite beautiful for such a small hotel. The bed was comfortable, and for a small hotel the rooms were laid out well for function and use of space. Great value. We were happy here.

Room Tip: Choose one with a back patio if you want some private outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesigningMamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    282
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
189
487
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We could only get one nights accommodation at this place & we were both really disappointed we couldn't get another night . Dan at the front desk certainly was a very helpful courteous person who gave us a great suggestion for dinner and also driving advice. Rooms are very large with a sitting area, fridge, desk area. Beds very comfy, breakfast was a very light continental but sufficient. Very accessible to the main downtown area. Great value for money & would highly recommend this place. We are now staying in another place close by for one night & room size is no match.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights . We wanted a short stop off point in our trip between LA and San Fran. Great location across from harbour. Pier and downtown within easy walking distance . Restaurants also close by. Room very well appointed and very clean. Our room faced a road so traffic noise a slight issue in the morning . Breakfast basic but certainly adequate for our needs. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road- maybe a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpudG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We only had one night here unfortunately, but it was a great stay. We were greeted by Dan who was very welcoming and friendly, and gave great local knowledge and advice.
The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed from coffee machine to free wifi. Dan played down the complimentary continental breakfast but it was more than adequate with a good selection of fresh fruits, juices, pastries and hot drinks.
The location is great for the beach and a stroll along Main Street. We loved Santa Barbara and really wish we had longer but will definitely return and stay at the Castillo inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Inn is ideally located in Santa Barbara. You can walk to the beach in two minutes and downtown in 10-15 minutes. The bed was comfortable and in the morning, some simple pastries and drinks were available, even though the place doesn't technically have a breakfast. It was a great value too...pretty inexpensive for California in general. The staff at the front desk were helpful with planning where to go and offering advice as to where to eat. Overall, I highly recommend Santa Barbara and this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on 21st March 2013 sadly only for a few hours. Our flight to LAX was delayed by 9 hours so we did not arrive untill 4am. After several email exchanges from a frustrated passenger on a BA flight stuck at T5 in London a late check in solution was found which gave us peace of mind for our first night in California. Many many thanks. Lovely room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcarusII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from Santa Barbara and we have to agree with all the positive comments about Castillo Inn: extremely nice and comfortable rooms, very clean, convenient location to beach and shuttle, a couple of restaurants within walking distance. A genuinely good value. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing