We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. The hotel is in a great location, a half a block to the beach and marina, and across the street from a nice park. The rooms are very spacious and charming with a nice sitting area. Our room had a patio attached out of the back door. The furnishings and bathroom were very nicely appointed and plantation shutters covering the windows. The staff was friendly and attentive as well as knowledgeable and helpful with things to do and restaurants to suit any taste and budget in the area. The property is small and you can park right outside of your room making it easy to get luggage into your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    247
    42
    6
    6
See reviews for
159
425
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 sons, aged 22 and 18, in July 2012, as part of a two week road trip in the US, mostly in California. We really enjoyed our short stay here, the room was comfortable, the service friendly and helpful and it was good value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Going on the reviews from Tripadvisor, I booked a room with a patio on the phone with someone named Jacqui a month before our stay. She said that she would email through our confirmation. Nothing ever arrived. I emailed several times, and finally had to call again. They had our booking, but the promised email still never arrived.

We were on a work trip in L.A, and 2 days before we were due to arrive, we knew our meetings would run over into the evening. We called again to try and cancel or move the first night, but were told there was a 48 hour cancellation policy which we had just missed. How were we to know, we never received anything documenting our booking or their policy? My boyfriend tried to explain, but the manager was obdurate. So we had to rush our meetings and drive late in the evening to make their check-in time.

When we got there, we found a VERY ordinary motel at a price of $200 + tax per night. No outdoor or communal area to hang out in, no pool. Our room had low ceilings, the decor was corporate, we did not get a room with a patio we requested a month prior. One small window looked out onto the parking lot of the motel, another small window looked out onto the parking lot of the motel next door. No view. Dark. Grim. Cooped up with no patio. Not our style.

My boyfriend talked to the manager to see if we could check out the next day as we were unhappy. He was again obdurate that we were bound to stay for the two nights, despite the fact we had never received any confirmation of our booking. As we did not get the room with a patio we requested because my boyfriend is a smoker, and there is no outdoor space at the motel, he smoked one cigarette outside on the stairs while talking to me through the open door.

We were so unhappy with the unfriendly sad motel that we checked out the next morning and went somewhere bright and cheerful with a pool and a good attitude. As a courtesy, we called Castillo Inn on the Beach to tell them they could resell the room for the second night we had paid for.

We spoke to someone called Frank, who said that they had already cancelled our reservation whilst still charging us in full for the two nights, and that they had moreover charged us a $100 'cleaning fee' for smoking in the room. We tried to explain that we hadn't done so, but Frank rudely told us that "this monkey business was not appreciated" ! Words fail. Perhaps if they treated their guests with respect, by confirming their booking and cancellation policy, and giving them the rooms they have requested for a reason, we wouldn't have been forced to smoke outside an open door. There seriously cannot have been more than one puff of smoke that chanced to blow inside the room. We are a polite couple and left the room in perfect condition, but were treated as if we had burnt down their precious motel.

This was a really negative experience which cost us over $500 for one night at this overhyped motel, and ruined our Santa Barbara trip. We were only there for 2 nights and didn't have a chance to relax from having to move. There are so many more worthwhile places in SB to stay. Avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay there, and if you do, don't expect to get the room you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I feel we found a diamond in the rough. I'm a bit of a hotel snob (or just a neat freak, either way...). I don't need the Ritz, but I want something cozy and clean, and this fits the bill! I was SHOCKED at the price. SB is not exactly an affordable place to stay, and my husband and I typically stay at the Canary for triple the cost. Now, this is certainly not the Canary, but for the price it was absolutely perfect. Clean, cozy, refurbished, and beds were very comfy!! Also, close enough to downtown/pier to walk.

Also, the room we originally reserved was unavailable due to water damage in a neighboring room. Our room was originally $99 per night (which was already a great price), but because we needed to change rooms (which was the exact same room on the bottom floor instead of the top), the manager gave us the room for half cost. Yes, you heard it, have cost! We paid $100 for TWO nights. Crazy talk.

Very nice place, very nice manager, will absolutely stay again!! Hope you will visit too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theniller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We attempt to be frugal in our hotel choices as we spend most time out exploring and only sleep in the room. After seeing good reviews on here and calling to find out that their "winter" rate was well below many of the surrounding hotels, I was convinced that this hotel would work for us. Well it more than works for us! We were pleasantly surprised to enter our room and see the spaciousness--room 12, king bed corner room. We have a one-year-old and are always trying to determine the best place to put his pack-n-play...no problem here! Plenty of room for him to explore and for us to shove the crib in a corner. Room is very nicely updated and well kept. Linens are very soft and comfortable and beds as well. Bathroom looks like it belongs in a much fancier hotel. Great location too--walking distance to the water and bike path, cute playground (ages 1-3), and marina. Shuttle stops just a block away to take you to the wharf, zoo, etc. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night here and was upgraded without even asking. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. It even had a charger for my I phone and a DVD player. The complimentary breakfast was just enough with fresh fruit and a few pastries. The coffee was surprisingly good. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calicoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on road trip down the coast and just needed a comfortable clean room for the night. The Castillo Inn suited us perfectly. Our family of 4 shared a room with 2 Queen beds - beds & pillows were very comfortable. The man at reception leant us umbrellas & gave us a map and directions of where to walk through town & to a great Mexican restaurant for dinner. A basic continental breakfast was included in the room rate which you collected in the reception area and ate in your room. We were happy with our choice and thought it was great value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing