We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice room, very good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice room, very good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an upstairs King suite with a little balcony. The room was facing the street. We were worried about the noise, but it was no problem. The room was beautifully redecorated, as well as the bathroom. The location of this motel is perfect, just a few steps from the yacht harbor and restaurants. The room was very clean. We have absolutely no complains at all. Considering this motel is close to the beach, the value is very good. What we didn't like was the fact when we entered the lobby to check in, there was nobody at the front desk. No bell either. We were waiting maybe 5 minutes. Then the front desk clerk appeared from outside. He was not friendly, just took our reservation, gave us the room keys and that was it.

Room Tip: the upstairs king suite is very nice. Tasteful decorated. Even though it is facing the street, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    254
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
165
440
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last year for two nights on the way to Cayucos. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the excellent condition of the room. The furniture, linens, carpets, and fixtures are in a Spanish Colonial style. Nothing was amiss. We had windows on three sides with views of the Santa Barbara mountains. The beds were soft, but firm, and induced some the best sleep I've every had away from home. The beach, wharf, and pier were only a few minutes away. The property is in very good condition. The onlything that reminds you that you are in a motel is that the cars are parked in front of the rooms. The property itself is across the street from a park. We liked it so much that my wife and I returned and spent seven days from Sunday to Sunday last week. I told my wife that if I could, I would return to Santa Barbara and this motel, instead of traveling to Hawaii. That is how much I enjoyed the motel and Santa Barbara. One drawback is that there are no microwaves. However, you do get a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The only other drawback is that if you stay out too late, you may find that you cannot park in the motel because folks don't always park well in the sometimes narrow parking spaces.

Room Tip: I'm actually too selfish to provide this information online. I don't want any competition fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed to go to Santa Barbara at the last minute staying over Saturday night. Many hotels were full and/or very expensive. After a few hours of research, I found the Castillo Inn in the ideal location for our visit near the marina. I felt very lucky when I found a room for $135 as the Inn had good reviews from Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It met our needs perfectly. A large,very clean room with nice amenities: a comfortable bed, flat-screen TV, 2 night stands with good lighting, lovely moldings and shutters, a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, bathroom had large granite counter top and shower surround and a modest, but good, continental breakfast. If we could find cons, it would be no chance of a view and the room is on the darker side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 788charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Mama grew up on Castillo street so after reading the reviews and checking prices I knew this was the place for us. Loved the room, the filtered water was a hit, but it was missing 2 things. A micro wave and a shower bench. I understand that hotels with less then 50 rooms are not required to have them , but one whould have been very nice. I really liked the fact that the water was HOT in the bathroom. Location was great. There is a little play ground at the beach half a block away so the 4 year old had a great time. Mama and I had both played there as children so it was extra special to share that with my daughter. Mama wanted to steal a coffee mug. Yes, real coffee mugs that say Castillo Inn on them. I went and asked about buying one. $5. A great cheap souvenir that made my Mama's day.
Book early this place sells out fast. It was the only hotel with a no vacancy sign in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdxtender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved this place! It's been recently remodeled, with a very large, elegant bathroom. Very clean, and quiet in the actual motel. Our room backed up against a "side" street, and we were annoyed by loud talking and car noises. Ask for a room along the backside.

Room Tip: Choose a room along the back, or the wing adjacent to the office to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of our road trip before flying home from LAX. The location is very good for the marina, and a relatively short walk to the wharf and State Street. Along with a few other guests, we arrived a little early but our room was ready so check-in was fairly painless. We were in the upstairs king bed balcony room above reception, which was lovely. The only thing we missed having was a microwave.
Breakfast was basic but very welcome, and the use of the PC and printer in the lobby was extremely handy re printing our boarding passes.
There are a lot of homeless people in Santa Barbara, so it was nice to see a temporary soup kitchen set up in the park across from the hotel. Good to know that some people still care.
Santa Barbara is an expensive town, and on balance we were very happy with the hotel and the value for money we got. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRobinsons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a really nice, clean, well located motel with hotel-style amenities. It is walking distance to the harbor attractions and state street. The staff is friendly. The rooms are big, clean an fairly quiet(except if the train roars through town) and there's free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing