We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castillo Inn at the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a very nice, very updated, very clean old style motel in a great location. The rooms are in excellent condition, The bathroom is all updated with granite counters, Kohler bathtub, with a nice shower head. There is no pool or restaurant but you can't beat the price and the place is spotless and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GPFS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 851 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed with my wife and baby in Room # 30, big room and spacious bathroom with balcony. Motel is very clean, very comfortable and in a great location. Close to State Street and beach. I will recommend it to my website visitors and come back anytime !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSeguro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

And it might be the only one, based on my pre-vacation searches for a hotel that wouldn't break the bank. It is a motor lodge and there aren't any great views from the rooms, but the rooms are newly renovated and comfortable with large fridges and coffee makers, and you're easy walking distance from nearly anything you would want to do in town. What surprised me was that the management was so friendly and helpful. We got a great orientation upon check in and during the office hours there was always someone willing to help you out with anything you needed.

The street on which the inn is located is kind of a motel row, and for the duration of our stay, the Castillo Inn was the only lodging with the "no vacancy" sign lit up the entire time. I took that as a good sign that we had chosen our accommodation wisely. The only negative thing I could say is that there was a really unfortunate view of the hideous Best Western hotel next door out of our back window. If the view was better, though, I'm sure the room would go for 2-3 times the current rate, so I was more than willing to tolerate the less than scenic view to be able to afford to stay so close to the beach--who needs a nice view from the room when you can walk 1/2 a block and be on the beach?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently spent one evening in Santa Barbara while touring the Pacific Coast Highway. The Castillo Inn was a highlight of our trip. The room was clean and fresh. It was very spacious, modern and comfortable. We would have loved to have stayed here several days. The Castillo Inn is centrally located and convenient to the city's attractions, The Harbor, State Street, beaches, etc... We will definitely stay at the Castillo Inn the next time we are in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjrbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very nice upscale rooms loved it location is perfect close to beach ... It's a small inn , charming and quaint yet modern... The location is close to the harbor and close to the beaches... I especially loved leadbetter beach very nice

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgirlinthesand20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip up the Pacific coast. It was well located just around the corner from the harbour and beach and a short walk to State street.

The room was a king bed and was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was only a continental but the coffee was great and the fruit fresh. The pastries were not so hot.

It was great value and definitely worth considering if in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RestfulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

For the price, you cannot beat this place!!! The owners have remodeled an old motor inn with some great updates and ample parking. It's within walking distance of downtown Santa Barbara and the beach, as well as being clean, quiet, and spacious. I would most definitely stay here again! The proprietor was helpful, including making great recommendations on where to eat. There's a reason the "No Vacancy" sign was on during our stay...this place is great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WineBooksWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $131 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing