We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy With Our Selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and it met all my expectations and then some. I stayed one night with my family (kids 10/12) and it was very roomy even with two queen beds. Good location, particularly to the marina. Clean room, comfy beds and very nice bathrooms. Nice little breakfast. No pool, but that was not an issue as the beach was a short walk around the corner and across the street. Amazing value for excellent qulity.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerJaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 863 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel overnight during our drive down the coast. We got such a good price at this hotel I was concerned it wouldn't live up to the positive reviews but it exceeded our expectations. Our room was very clean, updated and well appointed (flat screen, refrigerator, small desk). The bathroom was totally updated and spacious with a nice shower and a huge vanity. Our family of four had plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable. The location was an easy walk to the beach, pier and main street along the water. This hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Probably a 4.5, but near a 5 than a 4!
Room was lovely, we were above the reception, this room had a balcony area, which was lovely.
The road is fairly busy, but this was no bother.
Location is good, half a block from the sea front.
Seemed to be ample parking.
The grab and go breakfast was really good - nice coffee.
After researching our options for hotels in Santa Barbara, this place was really keenly priced - pretty good value.
Tip: There is a 7/11 store about 4 blocks up Castillo Drive, which is handy ( just take a right out of the car park, it's on the right).
The own, who we spoke to on check out was really friendly, and gave us one good advice on our planned destination (Cambria). He also let us leave our car in the car park for the rest of the day after we checked out (parking is limited in Santa Barbara), which was very nice of him.
We enjoyed our stay in Santa Barbara, the beach especially is beautiful.
We would definitly stay again.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with the King room (with balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK_AEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on our honeymoon and it was nice. Good location close to the seafront. Clean and reasonably priced. We didn't like the look of the basic breakfast, so went to an amazing cafe in town.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emmaginer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Castillo Inn for one night, a Thursday, on our way from N. Cal to Disneyland. The girl at the desk to check in could have been a little more pleasant but the process was quick. We had a very nice, updated, large, clean room (#20) with a queen bed. It was nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable with satin like sheets, there was a refrigerator (not noisy), central air, flat screen TV, large bathroom with a roomy vanity and a good shower. There were some nice touches such as a decorative tray on the nightstand to place your watch, earrings, etc. and a very cute toiletry holder. We got on the road at 6:45 the next morning and found that the office was not open so we could not check out which was not explained when we checked in. I called later to let Dan (the manager?) know we checked out and he was able to e-mail me a receipt. This is a small hotel, no pool or restaurant but a great location half a block from the beach, near the harbor, a short walk to the wharf and 1.2 walkable miles to downtown. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had such a lovely day in Santa Barbara. The man at the front desk was very nice and informative, the room was spacious with an outdoor patio, and the bathroom had a jaccuzzi bathtub which we put to good use. We found 2 half smoked cigars out on the patio, which we were surprised to see since its a no-smoking room, we didn't know if the people before us left them, or someone threw them over the wall from outside.
We had breakfast at Sambo's; a short walk from the hotel, yummy food and nice view of the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a great little place to stay in Santa Barbara, as long as you're not looking for a full-service hotel. This is a small inn with limited facilities, meaning there is no on-site restaurant, no pool, and no other facilities to speak of, except for the rooms and a very small lobby. That being said, my wife and I weren't looking for a full-service hotel, so this was perfect. Most of the inn's rooms are on the ground floor, and you park your car right outside your room door, as in a motel. Don't let his turn you off if you're not inclined to be a "motel person", because the rooms are spacious, updated and modern, and truly well-appointed in a Tuscan-style theme. We stayed in room 27, and there were two queen beds on one side of the room, with a substantial alcove hosting an armoir, a small refrigerator, and a good-sized desk and office chair on the other. The bathroom is beautifully tiled, again evoking that Tuscan theme. To top it off, there is a substantial enclosed patio, complete with a full-size table for four, wih four chairs, a table umbrella, and a chaise lounge. This is not the rickety stuff you find at most hotels, including more expensive hotels, rather this is solid equipment, quite a pleasant surprise.
So, the place gives a good impression, but what about cleanliness? The room and lobby are very clean, and one definitely gets the feeling that the manager/owner takes cleanliness seriously.
The price includes a very limited continental breakfast that you pick up from the lobby and take back to your room. That might not be a thrilling prospect in a typical motel room, but here you can go out on the patio and enjoy your small meal. The breakfast consists of canned or bottled juices/fruit nectar, coffee or tea, and what appear to be locally-made scones, pre-packaged cinnamon buns, and take-away fruit, such as apples, oranges, and bananas.
The inn's location, on a small side street across from a large city park, gives the inn a quiet setting for getting a restful night's sleep. Additionally, staying here brings you within a half-block of the beach and a bit more substantial 15 minute walk to the downtown shopping and dining district. My wife and I walked the route to downtown twice, walking back to the inn well past 10PM, and we both felt safe.
With all this said, we would both highly recommend staying at the Castillo Inn when in Santa Barbara. Considering all the more expensive options in this town, this place is a quiet, well-maintained, convenient gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jovialjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing