We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Barbara Inn
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary at the end of April and overall the Inn was good. The pros are the proximity to the Beach (at least in Santa Barbara the hotels are across the street, not directly on the beach). the nice size of the room, and close bike rental places nearby, the beach path across the street for biking or walking, and a reasonable size balcony with an ocean view. The bed was comfortable, and the staff was attentive. On the con size, the rooms could use a little updating, and you are on the street which can be a little noisy. The continental breakfast was adequate. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmckown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    117
    45
    31
    34
See reviews for
91
169
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The only good thing about the Santa Barbara Inn is the location: great ocean view. However, it is in need of considerable updating: it is literally falling down. We were in the "penthouse" which gave us a bird's-eye view of the dilapidated roof and the HVAC systems. The suite was huge but sparse, and the bedroom was on the back of the hotel. Therefore, we were entertained until the wee hours of the morning by the drunken guests at the adjacent motel. The railing on the deck was splintered and badly in need of replacement. The sliding glass door in the bedroom is sealed shut, so in case of fire, there is no way to get out. Parking is $7/night. There is no restaurant, so you need to drive elsewhere to dine. Apparently the hotel will be remodeled in the fall, but in the meantime, we would recommend travelers stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed G, General Manager at Santa Barbara Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay at the Santa Barbara Inn. We have closed the hotel as of October 1, 2013 for an extensive renovation. We will return with a completely renovated hotel with all new guestrooms and suites, air-conditioning, a new restaurant, bar, fitness center and banquet room. We look forward to a grand re-opening in early 2015.
Ed Galsterer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ok, so we booked this place for two nights because we wanted to get a taste of luxury in Santa Barbara. i have to admit this this really was the most best choice we could have made. Great staff, complimentary taxi service and amazing decor. The Santa Barbara Inn is located right by the beach, so after breakfast we would just take a stroll along the promenade and walk to the pier. We highly recommend going here for a great Santa Barbara experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damtodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Several stays at the Santa Barbara Inn have all been top rated! The staff is very attentive and dedicated to making stay the best it can be. The decor is charming and well as the amenities. It is a quick stroll across the street to the beach and a 20 minute walk to the pier. It the only place we will stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean side room provides good awesome sleep and easy access to the hot tub and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank db2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff was awesome, and included a hotel taxi to take us to a concert at the Bowl. Perfect location! And Nice, large rooms...with awesome balconies/gorgeous views. Steps to water and running trails, and great restaurants. Very professionally run. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Third floor, water view...balconies are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely great location, staff, and experience. This was the perfect place to stay in Santa Barbara. Only went for 1 night, but wish I could've stayed the entire weekend. I went with my wife for a romantic getaway, but we could've brought the kids and had a great time as well.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, overlooking pool towards beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GauchoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Came back to SB for a concert at the Bowl. Pleasant staff and an perfect location for the hotel. In particular, Victor was outstanding! Helped get the group to dinner and the show in plenty of time - not sure what we would have done without him. Everyone is there to make your time exceptional!

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach - no bad ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee32532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Property: Santa Barbara Inn
Address: 901 E Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3642
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing