We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Santa Barbara Inn was very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Barbara Inn
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara Inn was very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were very impressed with the Santa Barbara Inn. The rooms (we had upper floor ocean view rooms) were very roomy with lovely views of the ocean. The continental breakfast served in a beautiful, sunny room was just right to start the day. It was also walking distance to the Santa Barbara Zoo, which was very nice. On Sunday, we just strolled across the street to the ocean walkway to enjoy the views and the Sunday Art Fair. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick the Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceedob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    122
    47
    31
    34
See reviews for
98
182
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I travelled to California for our 25th wedding anniversary and booked a three night stay at the Santa Barbara Inn. We were very happy with our choice. The location was perfect, right across the street from the ocean. We had a very large room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the pool and beach - it was perfect. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us by making recommendations for our anniversary dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if in the area would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request/pay for a pool/oceanview room - it's worth it. Beds are the most comfortable ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank battlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Don't stay here if you want action. Stay here if you enjoy peace and quiet, lovely views, and the ocean. The rooms are old-school large and the beds are very comfortable. The off-season price, along with the continental breakfast, all day coffee and fruit, make it a bargain for Santa Barbara. Nice staff, too. Passes to a nice offered to a nice athletic club, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wondering77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wife and I did a quick one night weekender. Not realizing it was the Santa Barbara Film Festival weekend and all rates were going to be high, we chose the Santa Barbara Inn mostly due to rate on hotels.com. Proximity to the 101 was great and provided for easy access. It is about a 15min walk to State Street, but that provided cheaper food options. La Super Rica was just a mile down the street. The location off State Street was good and bad. We wished we were closer to the action, but it definitely was quieter than some of the other hotel options by State Street.

Pretty much everyone on staff was nice and helpful. The hotel room was a nice size and they gave the rooms a modernization which is nice. The bathrooms were still old school, but they were serviceable.

Overall, we may not stay here every time we go to SB, but it will definitely be a consideration for our next trip up there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

What makes this hotel worthwhile are the views and the access to the beach. The room was perfectly adequate and the continental breakfast was all we needed. The front desk staff was friendly and the valet parking guy was very friendly, putting up with our unceasing abuse of the unlimited in and out policy. Seriously, this property puts you right in the center of things at a very attractive price. We went to the Biltmore for lunch and felt that we had gotten the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seadog14926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I so agree with the notion of "5 star quality for 3 star price"! I admit i am partial to the SB Inn as it was the home of our wedding party during our wedding weekend in 2010, but we've visited many times since and the staff, room accommodations and overall quality is always top notch. You can not beat the quality and value for being right on the beach and walking distance to the Pier and State Street, even the Santa Barbara Bowl for summer concerts. We love it and will be back as often as we can rationalize!

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms are wonderful, and worth the little extra $. suite #200 is huge, great for ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Inn

Property: Santa Barbara Inn
Address: 901 E Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3642
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Barbara Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Barbara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing