We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to get away for an affordable price.”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Solvang, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to get away for an affordable price.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice for pleasure. From the guest service to the layout of the room- it is all excellent. Front Desk Agent Graeme has exceptional guest service and is always consistent in character when assisting guests. My room was more than enjoyable. Surely it is a motel, but this lodge goes above and beyond. Everything in the room is modern! Everything works! Everything looks clean and is highly attractive in my perspective. Checkout process is easy and fast. Quick bite to eat and coffee to grab before heading off is tasteful. One thing! Because nothing and no one is perfect- the parking is free which is great, but it's super tight. And if you go out for the evening- take a cab leave your car at the motel because finding a spot in the middle of the night is hard! That's the only bummer. But that small issue- wont keep me from staying again. Like I said get Graeme to assist you- you will enjoy your room, and jump on those cheap prices! :) my boyfriend and I will definitely be here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonandVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    228
    139
    52
    45
See reviews for
183
200
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After backpacking around the US for 6 weeks my boyfriend and I had our fair share of nice and not so nice accommondation.
This was one of the nice accommodations let me tell you.
Sure it isn't 4/5 star- if you want that check into the Four Seasons (only $500 ish a night...) the room was big, clean and cool. What you need in the height of summer. The pools were clean and quiet, great for relaxing around.The only downside was the breakfast, it was a bit rowdy and you have to push your way in to the toaster but it was good for a quick morning coffee and bite. The staff were friendly, the location was fine. My boyfriend and I walked the streets at night and it was fine, i felt very safe. I reccommend the Tee Off resturant over the road, the food was delish and it was cheap. Overall a great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Get the bus down to the waterfront as taxis cost a fortune, and check out the Tee Off restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were so excited to visit beautiful Santa Barbara, but this hotel/lodge was a big disappointment. The room was not very clean and looked and smelled old. The staff was neither helpful or particularly friendly. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emaxij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was originally planning to stay in Santa Barbara for a few days, but we decided to extend it a lot more. The rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast is limited, bagels, cereal, juice. We got a good rate of about 80-90$/night and we needed to spend about a couple of weeks in the area so this worked out well. The hotel is very close to places to eat, coin laundry, grocery stores, etc, so it suited our purposes. The hotel manager Shaun was very accommodating.

We returned again a couple of weeks later just for one night and the reception staff was a horror. We were checking in late on a weekend with no prior booking and he played on that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus.Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, lodge, inn needs some renovation and upgrading badly in all areas! We booked a room with two doubles and a king bed. The only positive thing I can say about it is that it was spacious and toiletries were nice. The room needed new EVERYTHING! The beds were hard and cardboard box feeling; linens were old (washcloths were actually frayed and towels were dingy); bathroom fixtures/tile/ toilets/sinks were outdated; dirt in corners; paint job messy; chairs stained so badly I wouldn't sit on them! We paid well over $200 for a night and it was not worth it! So glad I didn't book for any longer!!!!!!! We only had one wash cloth in a room for 4 people; we requested 3 more wash cloths and they brought us 1 and 2 hand towels! Who washes with a hand
towel?????? This was a VERY disappointing stay in beautiful Santa Barbara. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here 1 night to break up my car journey from San Francisco to LA and be close enough to drop the car off in LA early the next morning. Nothing special, very quiet, clean, local area seemed to be quite seedy as a previous reviewer also noted. Reception staff were not interested in the slightest in recommending somewhere to eat locally so had to make do with store across road.

Room Tip: Its ok for a stopover...nothing more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Area
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Lodge for a high school water polo tournament. Yes, there are worse places, but now way is this "lodge" worth more than $100 a night. The carpets are sticky and dirty. Bathroom is simple, but clean. Bedding was clean, but really nothing special. I paid well over $200. Not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing