We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was originally planning to stay in Santa Barbara for a few days, but we decided to extend it a lot more. The rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast is limited, bagels, cereal, juice. We got a good rate of about 80-90$/night and we needed to spend about a couple of weeks in the area so this worked out well. The hotel is very close to places to eat, coin laundry, grocery stores, etc, so it suited our purposes. The hotel manager Shaun was very accommodating.

We returned again a couple of weeks later just for one night and the reception staff was a horror. We were checking in late on a weekend with no prior booking and he played on that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, lodge, inn needs some renovation and upgrading badly in all areas! We booked a room with two doubles and a king bed. The only positive thing I can say about it is that it was spacious and toiletries were nice. The room needed new EVERYTHING! The beds were hard and cardboard box feeling; linens were old (washcloths were actually frayed and towels were dingy); bathroom fixtures/tile/ toilets/sinks were outdated; dirt in corners; paint job messy; chairs stained so badly I wouldn't sit on them! We paid well over $200 for a night and it was not worth it! So glad I didn't book for any longer!!!!!!! We only had one wash cloth in a room for 4 people; we requested 3 more wash cloths and they brought us 1 and 2 hand towels! Who washes with a hand
towel?????? This was a VERY disappointing stay in beautiful Santa Barbara. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here 1 night to break up my car journey from San Francisco to LA and be close enough to drop the car off in LA early the next morning. Nothing special, very quiet, clean, local area seemed to be quite seedy as a previous reviewer also noted. Reception staff were not interested in the slightest in recommending somewhere to eat locally so had to make do with store across road.

Room Tip: Its ok for a stopover...nothing more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Lodge for a high school water polo tournament. Yes, there are worse places, but now way is this "lodge" worth more than $100 a night. The carpets are sticky and dirty. Bathroom is simple, but clean. Bedding was clean, but really nothing special. I paid well over $200. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went to SB to escape LA for the weekend. Happen to be same weekend as the Avon Breast Walk so no rooms anywhere. Luckily we found a room here.

It's an older property but clean and by most standards it's pricey but it's in Santa Barbara so everything is expensive.

The staff was really nice particularly Semehi. Although we played a bit of a trick on her - my buddy looks like pop singer Miquel - she was very nice and accomodating.

It's a simple, no frills type place but it worked for us just fine. Thanks Semehi for all your help.
:)

Room Tip: Tell Semehi your famous. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were on a road trip in June/July and stayed at a lot of different hotels. We only tried the pool once... and it was in Santa Barbara. Very clean and a nice and quiet place. The room was very spacious - we are a family of 5 so space is essential.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good INN, far from main street with restaurants and malls and also from beach.
Very very basic breakfast, just some sugar bread, coffee and juice, nothing more.....
Quite expensive once it is just an INN and far from heart of the city

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Italo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $107 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing