We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convient location - Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convient location - Great Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went to SB to escape LA for the weekend. Happen to be same weekend as the Avon Breast Walk so no rooms anywhere. Luckily we found a room here.

It's an older property but clean and by most standards it's pricey but it's in Santa Barbara so everything is expensive.

The staff was really nice particularly Semehi. Although we played a bit of a trick on her - my buddy looks like pop singer Miquel - she was very nice and accomodating.

It's a simple, no frills type place but it worked for us just fine. Thanks Semehi for all your help.
:)

Room Tip: Tell Semehi your famous. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    223
    138
    50
    45
See reviews for
180
195
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were on a road trip in June/July and stayed at a lot of different hotels. We only tried the pool once... and it was in Santa Barbara. Very clean and a nice and quiet place. The room was very spacious - we are a family of 5 so space is essential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good INN, far from main street with restaurants and malls and also from beach.
Very very basic breakfast, just some sugar bread, coffee and juice, nothing more.....
Quite expensive once it is just an INN and far from heart of the city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Italo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff is second to none, from front desk to housekeeping. Rooms are big, beds comfy, clean pool and" hot" hot-tub!. I would recommend to anyone.
...Special word for front desk workers. All were attentive, patient, and professional. Ask for "semehi", she really helped me alot , very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goletaproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I agree with Rogandme - apart from an unexpected breakfast, this motel is way too expensive for its size, location, facilities and decoration. Sandpiper Lodge owners, lift your game! Trip advisor, this one should go down the list!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

There was No elevator and no room service offered. I expected a hotel with those facilities. Hotel is do far up State Street - taxi cab costs $16 to get to downtown State Street. I would probably stay closer to the action next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the good stuff:
Spacious room with a microwave and mini fridge
Good shower (curtain a bit dirty)
Fairly good location if you have a car!
Breakfast was fine - cereals, pastries, juice and coffee
However:
Restaurants in area seemed a little seedy and cheap but may be good for families who don't want to venture out every evening. (We went into town and ate at Eureka - delicious burgers with a great atmosphere, butloud ish music so perhaps not good for families)
The room was smelly and dated (probably didnt help having a bin right outside our door too!)
No good views
Staff were not particularly friendly e.g on check in (but were certainly not rude either)
Personally I think it's quite overpriced but you pay for being so close to Santa Barbara - they all seem to be pricey (particularly further in)!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#30 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing