We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Central Coast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I don't know why this hotel is rated so high on trip advisor. It's only average. We got a good deal on hotwire ($130) at the last minute when they had the rooms for $240!!! This is a 2 star hotel. It did have 1 king bed, and another room w/ 2 double beds w/ a TV in it. The bathroom is in dire needs for a remodel. We were awoke at 1 am to some guest arguing w/ his girlfriend right outside our room. And then again at 2 am to some partyers talking real loud and revving the engines of t heir cars. I would never stay here again nor recommed it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamiofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    229
    139
    52
    45
See reviews for
183
200
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Fine and clean rooms with good sized beds. Nice but small pool area but don't go to the "fitness center" the equipment must be from sometime in the 70's. If you like sugar stuff for breakfast you have come to the right place. Plenty of opportunities for getting manicures in the naborhood - Magic nails was good according to my wife. If you turn to your left from the Motel you will find a Macy's along with a lot of other shops behind it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sebbwlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is just a Motel and anywhere else but Santa Barbara it would not be worth $175.00 a night.
Bad location, poor reception.
I guess if you are looking for competitive rates this place is all SB has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Further from the beach than I expected, but location is premium in Santa Barbara. No complaints. My room was clean, comfortable, spacious for one person. Wi-fi and a nice TV. Coffee and complimentary breakfast available. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, you need to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathe599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked through Hotwire. We were on a budget and were shocked at the prices of 3star hotels in Santa Barbara so decided to bump down to this 2 star. And even though it was our only 2star accommodation of our trip it was the most expensive place we stayed.
Its definitely a 2 star.
The only positive is that it's right off State street so it's relatively easy to find and it's in a central spot.
It looks just like a seedy motel and the staff treat you that way. They were not particularly friendly. We were told there was free wifi but were not able to connect until probably close to midnight so had to find a Starbucks nearby so we could use yelp to find somewhere for dinner.
Didn't feel particularly safe here either. Would not go back and would not recommend it to others. Next time I would stay further down on State street, in the old town, closer to the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room and location was great but the front desk was very rude and inhospitable!!! Don't bother asking to park at the lodge, you will be towed!! Overpriced and will not recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_4everrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Though at the far end of town, hard to fault. Rooms, staff excellent. Ask for a bath you get a bath.Great pool and hot tub adjacent When i say 'far end of town', leave the car, bus stop right outside, $1.25 OAP, for downtown. Nearly there and a swift change to one of those trolley car types that's not really a trolley, takes you to the waterfront. Miles of beach and Palm trees.
Lots to see, waterfront delightful, watch the sea lions, hire bicycles.
Back at Sandpiper Lodge - breakfast, ignore the pastries, go for the cornflakes - for dinner over the road to Maxis Italian. You have 17 seconds to cross!, Ask for Margaretha at the restaurant, she's a treasure.

Room Tip: ."Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing