We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very enjoyable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I chose the motel after reading reviews here, but even so i was pleasantly surprised! I am currently travelling through CA and let me tell you this: it is the best motel i've stayed at so far! I can say even more: the motel was better than many 3 star hotels i stayed at! When we arrived we were asked what floor we would prefer. We took the 1st floor room and weren't dissappointed at all. The room was big, so was the bathroom. The TV had a lot of channels to offer, the wi fi worked as well. There was a heated (!) swimming pool (how often do you see that in the motel?!) and a small gym. I've read here that someone was complaining that there were no towels in the gym, hello?! It's not a 5 star resort!!! The breakfast was nice as well, the coffee was good, so was the orange juice, there were a lot of pastries and cornflakes. The location was ok, it was too far to walk to downtown, but parking there is free for first 75 mins and then it costs 1.50 per hour, which is reasonable. There is whole foods market and some fastfood as baskin robbins, chick-a-filet, taco bell, denny's etc nearby. The reason why i'm giving the motel 4 and not 5 stars is following: the safe which was in the room, was broken. And there were hair in the sink and, which is worse, on the towels. However, i've noticed, that the problem with hair on the towels happens in all motels. I would strongly recommend that the team checks the towels more thoroughly. Other than that: i would definitely stat here again, very nice motel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonibulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    207
    119
    48
    44
See reviews for
159
183
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Front desk staff was rude, wifi kept cutting out, moldy bathroom, 70s era furnishing, hard mattress, barking dog next door, no wipes or towels in the fitness center...I booked here because it was cheap. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A nice place to stay if you are looking for reasonable prices in SB. Close to eateries and the freeway, but nothing spectacular. Just and average motel with a good location, off street parking, and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobes313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Sandpiper Lodge is clean, quiet, tastefully decorated and in a convenient location...the desk staff was beyond great! There is plenty of free, off street parking and several walking distance restaurants and shops. I would stay here again...

Room Tip: I was able to get this room at a substantial discount with 'name your price' from Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judahshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This young lady was such a great asset to this hotel, first off my cousin Suzi lost her keys and we of course couldnt find them so we went to Semehi and she ran with the ball and made a touchdown, she called us a cab, Graeme was our cab driver he gets a shout out too!!!! Then I left my clothes there and my cousin Suzi left her mirror, so once again Semehi helped us out, she fedex our stuff and she deserves a big raise, and believe me she made are little one day SB a great time!!!! The pool and gym looked awesome but we werent able to enjoy it, next time...also the breakfast goodies were simply yummy!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nani432796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Thank Samahi and front Desk Ladies! We travel coast to coast because we own DC PLATINUM TRANSPORT and when we stay 200 nights on the road a year finding great clean rooms is important but when the staff is as lovely as the front desk ladies it's a no brainier stay there again! Mark the GPS. Rooms were clean plenty of food all over that is all walking distance. Or go. 3 miles from downtown. I would stay there again and I would feel comfortable recommending it because the staff is great and helpful and it's reasonably priced!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLaNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a hotwire deal. The basic features for me when I travel on a budget are cleanliness, confort bed and hot shower. Not only Sandpiper has it all as they also have big room, big bathroom, very nice shower, a small gym, a pool, a jacuzzi and parking. Staff is friendly and the place is well maintaned. Excelent choice!
But be aware that they are far from the beach, you will have to use your car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#38 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing