We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great value lodge close to Santa Barbara,much more expensive to stay in Santa Barbara and we thought this was a much nicer Area with everything at hand,plenty of restaurants and shops,nice friendly staff and lovely clean rooms with microwave,they also have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarketravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    207
    119
    48
    44
See reviews for
159
183
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crossmichael, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our bus trip from LAX and arrived in the afternoon. We thought that we could have had a better welcome from the girl on the desk but were coldly given our key and pointed in the direction. Nobody helped with bags and made our way to our room which we refused right away. It was dark and dingy "but it is clean" we were told but no outlook at all. Out the back were empty cans of paint and an old bike The reception girl was again surley when we mentioned this and definately needs some customer care training. The manager was more accomodating and we were allocated another room which was better although still not the best outlook on to the car park.
Rooms were clean as was the bathroom however the coffee and tea facility allowed for one use per day. Walls were a bit thin and next door seemed to be having a great time !!!!! Breakfast consisted of coffee, a dry croissant and some cereal.
There are a few restaurants nearby and a large supermarket along the road. We ate at the Thai restaurant one evening and in a bar restaurant in the shopping centre the other both of which were good.
Getting into Santa Barbara meant taking a bus which was around £2.00 each per journey and took around 25 mins. This was a pain as although they were fairly frequent it meant hanging around the bus station at night if you wanted to get back, It was cold at night while we were there and I had to buy a jacket.
Santa Barbara is a nice town with plenty of restaurants and plenty of shops. The harbour area is nice to stroll along and you can see dolphins and pelicans hanging about the boardwalk. We took the City Tour which was interesting and wanted to take the Landshark but he did not turn up. Be aware and if you can, ensure it is running every day.
Would I stay at the Sandpiper again no because they need to install some customer care into their staff and it is too far out from the main area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

have used in the last three years, without problems, on last stayand previous stays doing construction for the city, did not know just how m days wero be used, office would call their office and ask if it would be same price, the girl said yes, and there were not any problems, this last stay, did same routin told same price, when I received bill from credit card company difference prices each time, never on weekends or holidays, called credit card company after no response from Sean, the manager, somehow the information from Sean said I was protesting stays not price, told credit card company it was for different rates, not the one told on the phone, on the last stay sandpiper said they didnot have reservation, had to have sandpiper recheck, found under last name first, and wrong rate, they changed the rate at that night stay, but Sean would not bo back to previous nights, thiswas a total $246 total, since then stayed down the street at competitors without any problems costing sandpiper a total of $3600, not too smart, if you deal with them get it in writing because they have very short memories

Room Tip: ont go to sandpiper lodge in santa barbara, calif
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I want to first Thank-you for all the times you have stayed with us in the past,it sounds like your past stays were good and I am happy to hear that. I am sorry if the billing or rates on your last stay was not correct, our rates do change sometimes daily. Please contact us again and ask for my contact info (Mark) if you would still like to talk about the charges, I hope you come back to the Sandpiper Lodge and stay with us again. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not knowing Santa Barbara, I left my hotel-fate up to the Hotwire Gods. Their choice... Sandpiper Lodge for $85/night on an early January weekend.

The Sandpiper is a good value for that price. It's a typical U-shaped motel with parking in the center and rooms around the parking lot. My room was on the end so I wasn't bothered by car noise. The water pipe noise from all adjacent rooms however.... pretty loud.

I appreciate having a fridge, coffeemaker, and microwave in the room. The room was comfortable and clean if a bit worn. The bedding was not soft -- a bit scratchy but for the price in a town like Santa Barbara, I should have expected such.

The continental breakfast was pretty good -- tasty pastries and plenty of them. The free wi-fi is a plus as well, though it was a bit slow for my Netflix.

If I was on a budget, I would stay at the Sandpiper again.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are directly at the parking lot. 2nd floor rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonomaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice hotel for the price. It is away from downtown and away from the beach but only 10 minutes or so. The room was clean, quite and comfortable. The staff was very nice and efficient. The breakfast wasn't much, cold cereal, bananas and some muffins. I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't take room 109. It is next to the laundry and they start doing the laundry early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Found this hotel on line and decided to take a punt considering the price. Right from check in which was very friendly, quick and organised through to the room being very clean, spacious and good amenities including a microwave. I couldn't fault the place. The price is fantastic and the accommodation can't be faulted. The shower has great water pressure. Only thing I would re-consider would be taking an upstairs room to avoid hearing footsteps above. If given the chance I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs room to avoid hearing people walking around above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM5046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Served online and found this hotel. Read the reviews and decided to book it. We arrived around 4 pm and the check in was quick and pleasant. Joshua who was serving us was meticulous and pleasant. He explained the breakfast, car parking, location of our units clearly. Seldom has I seem such dedication. Well done.

The rooms were spacious and clean. Everything is in order.

The location of the lodge is smack in walking distance to shops, restaurants and amenities. Very convenient.

Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaRichWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#38 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing