We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a good price”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Sandpiper Lodge and were very impressed with the quality of the room. It was well kept and the furniture/bed were in very good condition. The staff were helpful when it came to information about the area. The motel has a pool which was very clean and not too busy. The motel is situated on State Street, which is the main street running through SB all the way to the beach, but it's a very long street and would take a long time to walk from the motel to the shops/restaurants etc. There's is a bus stop outside though which runs all the way to the main drag. It was very good value compared to some of the other places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpoconn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We liked the Sandpiper- stayed there on the first night of our weeklong CA vacation (driving from LA to SF). It was clean and well maintained, with a pretty good location (on State St but several blocks away from the shops, restaurants, etc.). Also had a safe in the room, which was a plus.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here as we moved our daughter to college. It's a fine location on upper State St. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Nothing fancy. We had a mini-fridge to keep our beverages cool and wifi to stay connected. The staff was good and efficient. The breakfast was adequate. They had fruit only on the weekends. The grounds were very beautiful and well kept. All in all a fine place to stay with knowledgeable and friendly staff. I'd stay here again. It was within the budget of staying off the beach in Santa Barbara. If you want the beach and State St. you pay for it. It was also easy on and off the highway. There's also plenty shopping of any kind within walking distance. We ate at two restaurants that I'd recommend; The Farmer Boy, awesome breakfast and Your Choice Thai, excellent Thai Food.

Room Tip: There's really no bad room. The hotel is U-shaped with parking in the center. The parking spaces...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheeseKing38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Sandpiper Lodge is a good deal in Santa Barbara. It is on outer State street 2-3 miles to down town. The staff very nice on check in. room clean, not large. But in Santa Barbara you should be out & enjoying the city. Breakfast simple but good. would stay again.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room on 2nd floor& back from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I wouldn't say this is the best place to stay but since everything around Santa Barbara is pricey, this place is the only one that was the better pricing. Being that it's a 2 stars place, it was indeed as expected.

The staffs were really friendly when I checked in and checked out. Not sure why they needed 3 people at front desk but they do know their customer service! They would stop talking and give me their attention as I was approaching them. Would not expect this at a 2 stars! Kudos to you guys! Thanks for being friendly and making the stay easier for me.

Free continental breakfast. A good grab and go :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For $240 a night, this motel was way overpriced! The furnishings were old, everything was kind of drab and depressing even with the LCD tv. I felt like I was in a Motel 6 with better bedding. The location was awesome though. Lots of restaurants nearby and a Whole Foods.

Room Tip: This motel is okay but only as a last resort because of the price. Ironically, there is a Motel 6 ri...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good basic rooms with standard amenities. We stayed one night in a 2 bedroom suite with another couple. Had 2 sinks in an area separate from the toilet/shower/tub. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast of cold cereal, very nice pastries, juice, coffee, tea. Too far out to walk to shops, but an easy drive into Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sometime_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $133 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing