We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff”
Review of Orange Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orange Tree Inn
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed for just one night but found the rooms extremely clean and secure, with a safe in the room too. We left our phone behind accidentally and the staff (Laura) went over and above to help us get it back, despite us having flown to New Zealand. So helpful and friendly, i would recommend this hotel to all. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we travelled on our honeymoon.. We arrived very late in the evening due to the 4th July holday weekend. We walked into the room to instant disappointment... The room is very dated and did not have any refinements. There room was dirty.. We had an exposed electrical socket next to the bed with wires showing. A very noisy air conditioning unit which we could not have on during the night as it kept us awake. The locking mechanism on the patio doors was poor and not very secure which made me uncomfortable. The bath was dirty and was not pleasant at all.. Finally the toilet overflowed all over the bathroom and came into the bedroom area covering the floor and carpets.. There was obviously a fault with the toilet as it constantly filled up all night causing more noise. My husband went to the front desk to report it, When the man came to see.. He just handed us a plunger to sort it out ourselves.. We got up extra early and just left this hotel behind... Unfortuneately we cannot leave the bad memory behind.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mypetal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed 1 night. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. The room wasn't overly big but had a hairdryer, flat screen TV, alarm clock and balcony. There was only one ice machine in the whole complex. The room was quite clean though and the bed comfy. It was across the road from a service station and a 5 minute walk to IHOP. It is approx45 minute walk to the beach area via State Street. Check in and out was pretty quick and hassle free. Probably wouldn't stay again as we like to have a fridge but for the price it's pretty good. The pool area look ok and the pool was heated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjd773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This motel, has free parking, no breakfast just a good cup off coffee and OJ!! The room is spacious, clean, and a neat bathroom! The best part of this motel, is the staff, Laura is so friendly, helpful and always has a smile! You must have a car if you want to stay here as its based on the main boulevard but on the near end, so best have a car if you thinking to book this place. All in all, on a budget with a good clean room and fantastic staff, this is the place in SB! You will enjoy your stay!! Laura thanks again for making our stay so pleasant! A perfect one night stay! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was the cheapest place to stay in SB...and we were feeling cheap....so we gave it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. I was expecting roaches and springs sticking out of the bed (as was my last experience in a motel, in Manhattan, KS). But we got a spacious, clean room in which everything functioned properly. Nice surprise. It's definitely a basic motel, but we found it quite suitable. We were just in SB for one day, to ride bikes, drink beer, and eat at Backyard Bowls. The Orange Tree allowed us to do all of those things without breaking the bank. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Staff was very nice, but hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Zero amenities. Nothing that you would expect as standard - not even a coffee maker in the room. No guest computer/internet station, no laundry facilities, no fridge, no gym, not even an iron. Pillows were also awkwardly small - very strange and not very comfortable as they were so small you had to perch your head just in the center. What was not lacking was ants. Ants every single day I stayed there. Also - as it is cheap it was frequented by young partiers who brought with them cases of beer. The quests were often loud and the walls and ceilings very thin, so it was very noisy. Luckily the room fan was so loud that it drowned out some of the noise. Don't get a room by the pool unless you want drunk party people directly outside your room - they were so loud that it sounded like they were inside the room. Also - the room phone doesn't even have a button for the front desk, not even a note pad or anything with the hotel phone number listed. Also - not the usual book that lists the hotels amenities... since there were none, but it would have at least been a place to find the front desk number. The housekeeping staff occasionally not only removed the soap that I had opened and did not replace it - so there was no soap unless you walked to the front office. Housekeeping also often left the curtains to my room wide open where there was a full length glass door out to where the pool partiers hung out, so anyone could fully look into the room. I would never stay there again. Also - I was told I had a $7.00 incidentals charge but they could not explain what it was for... but nice staff. But I don't choose where I stay based on the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler46LMNOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I visit Santa Barbara about six times per year and I always stay at the Orange Tree. In this price range, they're far and away the best hotel in SB. The location is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable (love the vaulted ceilings on the second floor), and the service is spectacularly good. The front desk staff is always friendly and ready to help. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadTrip0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
718 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Inn

Address: 1920 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Orange Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing