We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There must be somewhere better to stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Orange Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orange Tree Inn
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
New York City, New York
1 review
“There must be somewhere better to stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Staff was very nice, but hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Zero amenities. Nothing that you would expect as standard - not even a coffee maker in the room. No guest computer/internet station, no laundry facilities, no fridge, no gym, not even an iron. Pillows were also awkwardly small - very strange and not very comfortable as they were so small you had to perch your head just in the center. What was not lacking was ants. Ants every single day I stayed there. Also - as it is cheap it was frequented by young partiers who brought with them cases of beer. The quests were often loud and the walls and ceilings very thin, so it was very noisy. Luckily the room fan was so loud that it drowned out some of the noise. Don't get a room by the pool unless you want drunk party people directly outside your room - they were so loud that it sounded like they were inside the room. Also - the room phone doesn't even have a button for the front desk, not even a note pad or anything with the hotel phone number listed. Also - not the usual book that lists the hotels amenities... since there were none, but it would have at least been a place to find the front desk number. The housekeeping staff occasionally not only removed the soap that I had opened and did not replace it - so there was no soap unless you walked to the front office. Housekeeping also often left the curtains to my room wide open where there was a full length glass door out to where the pool partiers hung out, so anyone could fully look into the room. I would never stay there again. Also - I was told I had a $7.00 incidentals charge but they could not explain what it was for... but nice staff. But I don't choose where I stay based on the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler46LMNOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    112
    92
    31
    24
See reviews for
68
130
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

I visit Santa Barbara about six times per year and I always stay at the Orange Tree. In this price range, they're far and away the best hotel in SB. The location is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable (love the vaulted ceilings on the second floor), and the service is spectacularly good. The front desk staff is always friendly and ready to help. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadTrip0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Everything other reviewers have said comes to mind:
- The beds are comfortable
- The bathroom is really small and old, with no countertop
- The road is loud
- There are bugs (ants and spiders) but otherwise seems clean

There is no microwave or fridge. There is a table with chairs, and a built in desk. There is a lot of noise from the upstairs room, and the floor is really squeaky, so I would recommend an upstairs room. All of the rooms are nonsmoking. I had a queen room once in the very back upstairs, and it was really small (barely enough room to walk around the bed) and the king room is a lot bigger. Pool area looks nice. It's possible to walk to restaurants and night life if you are used to walking.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have stayed at the Orange Tree several times because of its convenient location and relatively affordable rates. The people at front desk are always friendly & helpful. There's a nice pool. Comfy beds. The rooms can be a bit noisy - especially on Holiday weekends. No in-room coffeemakers or continental breakfast; but you can go down to lobby for fresh coffee/tea, OJ, milk in the mornings. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia_sopapilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Only placing this review for cost reference. I think it is a fair price they are asking for Sun-Thu rate ($65 plus tax. $8.00 tax. Total $73 per night. AAA rate).

Friendly front desk staff.

Large room.

State Street creates noise.

Inconsiderate, selfish, SOB's insure EVERYONE in the motel hears their pathetic, worthless car alarm horns at every hour of the day. Sound editorial?

Yes, there should be a law against car alarms, and I am a Libertarian!

Back to motel room review after just hearing an alarm tone in front of my room: the rate is fair. I know Santa Barbara commands high room rate on week-ends (winter or summer). I have seen a rate of $180/night week-end rate at the Motel 6 near the sand.

Average review of the Orange Tree Inn. At $73/night, no negative review. Fair price for what you get. I am a budget traveler.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great place to stay but to damn pricey for what the rooms look like

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHAching04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

OK..this motel is 1970's -looking...2 story...on Upper State St. in S.B...close to a mini-mart...few blocks walk to the Mission. We walked down to State St. where all the restaurants//shops//..all the way down to the beach. A good, hefty walk; there is an "electric shuttle" bus that you can get at the beach for 25cents..that will take you back up State St. if your feet are aching from the long jaunt!
Pros: big, heated pool...people at front desk very helpful/knowledgeable. We had the "best" located room..Room 111. Lower level..last one at the back(near the alley.) Very quiet///sliding door open to own patio..with a table/chairs...a few steps to the pool.
Several other room on the "left" side of hotel open up to the pool too. Very comfy firm bed.
Cons: No coffeemaker in room..though you can go down to lobby for fresh coffee/OJ/milk. Smallest "bathroom" I've seen...no separate "vanity" area...just a dresser drawer for clothes, with a lamp by it. Tile in tub/wall area is shades of gray...tub is off-yellow! (70's...) If you are a "must-be-sparkling-clean" person...the rooms may not be for you. There were 2 small holes in the drapes..and a few stains on the carpet. As long as I don't encounter any type of insects, I'm OK with this. And NO hot-tub, though front desk says they are working on it. Housekeeping was friendly and accomodating.
I would stay here again, no problem! And parking stinks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#30 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Inn

Property: Orange Tree Inn
Address: 1920 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Orange Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Orange Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing