We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location With Helpful Staff”
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mason Beach Inn
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay,Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location With Helpful Staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I really liked the location on a quiet side street but still very close to the beach & to downtown.Besides being very quiet @ night the grounds of the inn were nicely landscaped.Our room was spacious & very clean.The mattress on the bed was a good one but a little too hard for me. I enjoyed the whirlpool which was opened until 10 pm & I met a very friendly couple while @ the whirlpool.The staff was friendly & extremely helpful especially on restaurant suggestions.Free breakfast in the morning which could have had more fruit.The wifi @ the inn was not good & I finally gave up on trying to get a connection.On the whole this is a lovely little inn to stay with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannMorroBay_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    185
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
101
184
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived late into Santa Barbara and went to the Visitor's Centre. They recommended the Mason Beach Inn and phoned to see if there were any rooms available. We were able to book 2 nights which is what we wanted. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was reasonable but could have offered a little more variety. The staff were helpful with places to go for dinner and other places of interest for two travelling Australians. One of the disappointments was that
the coffee maker hadn't been cleaned and during our stay the bins in our room weren't emptied. We find this a quiet location which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeronga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First off, we will 100% be coming back and staying at Mason Beach Inn, it fit our needs perfectly and the low price allowed us to indulge in great meals on State Street.

We had a room above the pool, which was nice but at times a little loud. Especially in the mornings when the staff was hauling around garbage cans & such. So just a warning, if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the pool.

Overall, the hotel served all of our needs. It's not an extravagant 5 star property, but the neither is the price. The location is walking distance to not only an amazing beach, but to downtown with a ton of great restaurants. We parked our car on the first night we arrived and never got back into until we left 3 days later.

There are many similar beach cottage type hotels around the property, I would imagine that Mason Beach Inn was the least expensive, but overall an excellent value with a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to chill after 2weeks of travelling from Las Vegas before going on for two weeks to be with our family in Disney Florida. The room was comfortable staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast pastries were lovely and plentiful, toast cereal and fruit. The only negatives for us which were quite important as we were far from home the wi fi did not work in our room even though they kept rebooting it. Also on the last night I was woken by people talking and banging doors at 1 am and just as I was trying to get back to sleep at around 2.15 the same thing happened. I know this is not the hotels fault but I think people should have more consideration for other people. I wonder if this is the norm here. The hotel is very well located for restaurants and beach front walks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at this lovely little place and enjoyed it tremendously. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially to the grandkids. The rooms were well appointed and the beds were heaven. I generally cannot sleep in hotels; but I slept like a baby during the entire stay. There was one noisy night of college kids running down the halls; but it was spring break after all and in no way the managements fault. Everything was in easy walking distance, even for this old lady. Breakfast was continental with exceptional pastries from a local bakery. Great pool and hot tub. A bit pricey; but Santa Barbara is the quintessential tourist town. I will definitely be a repeat guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maebeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A weekend in May can run you $250-$400 a night for a barely above average hotel/motel in Santa Barbara. For $189 a night, this was the nicest place for the price. Loved being so close to the beach. We walked or jogged every morning.
The only drawback was the housekeeping service. First day, they didn't clean our room at all. We had to ask for clean towels the next morning. After that, towels would be gone by midday, but not replaced until late afternoon. Garbage cans left full, coffee pot not cleaned, no fresh coffee packets left. The last day we ran out of TP and kleenex.
But the pool is nice and the location is great. Better than many of the $200+ hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Payed $ 200.- in total ! At this rate you expect to have something totally different from:
- overaged furniture and small bathroom (wouldn't use the furnished shower gel...even to wash my feet)
- bad sound isolation,
- tiny pool with screaming kids (parents did not have any education notions),
- ridiculous breakfast, (as i don't eat sweet, i've been offered to toast some bread ... ! First class..)

We spent the next night at a Hyatt hotel, excellent service, rooms were nicelly furnished, huge bathroom with very good products (cosmétics), incredible breakfast, first class service, all that for a price of .... $ 140.- so that leaves you an idea of the rip-off this place is!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi_Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasonBeach, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize that your stay was not what you may have expected. We have done a lot of renovation over the past year and are still working on our furniture. We have added flat screen TV's to all rooms, granite counter tops, new cabinets and closets, new bedding etc. I do understand that you stayed on a Saturday night which can be expensive anywhere in Santa Barbara. As you mentioned you stayed the next night at a different location which would have been a Sunday. Our rates on Sunday would were starting at $119 plus tax. Unfortunately we do not have kitchen facilities so we can only offer a free continental breakfast. We do not build the breakfast into the cost of the room. We order our breakfast items daily from a local bakery. We do include three types of cereal, one being gluten free, fresh muffins, scones, and croissants, oatmeal, toast, apples, bananas, oranges, orange juice, coffee, an assortment of teas, hot chocolate, etc. We do feel that our price is very fair for the area as surrounding properties are often more expensive for the same or less amenities. We do use Oxygen brand amenities for our bathroom's which is of high quality. We are not a branded hotel such as a Hyatt, we are a small Boutique property with a great location, friendly and helpful staff, and pride ourselves on great service and Santa Barbara charm. I do apologize about the noise from the pool and spa area which is open from 10am to 10pm. Most of our guests love our pool area as you discovered by your comments. Again thank you for your comments as we strive to better our property and ourselves every day. We are of more than fair value for Santa Barbara and thank our many returning guests that enjoy our property and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Property: Mason Beach Inn
Address: 324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing