We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mason Beach Inn
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Tillamook, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel was everything we expected. The staff was very friendly and they helped us eagerly. I had just broken my ankle and so we needed more assistance then usual. They got ice for us and carried trays for us etc. The pool was lovely. Only drawback is that the bathroom shower was not accessible. You had to have booked a room with one king bed to have an accessible shower.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanmiksanmik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    184
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
100
183
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Clean, generic 2-star motel. Great price for being 1 short block from the beach. Friendly staff.

Extremely noisy if you end up with a first floor room, you can hear every footstep of the people above you. There is no soundproofing in the walls or ceiling. Insist on an upper floor room if this is an issue for you.

Breakfast of toast and muffins and juice is a nice effort for a 2-star, but a bit lacking.

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room unless there's nobody above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved the Mason Beach Inn. It was quaint, clean, and quiet! located right in a residential neighborhood and it felt safe and inviting. The pool and spa were wonderful and we slept
better than at home. The breakfast was delicious including pastries and croissants delivered
fresh from an upscale bakery in town. Brandon the onsite manager and his staff were more
than helpful with any questions about the area and our stay. We will be back on our next
trip to lovely Santa Barbara. Thank you Brandon!

Room Tip: go for the rooms on the second level. The access to the elevator to parking lot was so convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlCambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We gave the Mason Beach Inn (Inn is code for "motel" in Santa Barbara in many cases) over Thanksgiving Weekend. Got a good deal on AAA internet rate including a mini fridge (empty!) plus microwave. Our room had been updated with new furnishings, new bathroom sink/counter area and a wardrobe closet vs. a bare rack in the corner.

We had a nice view of the pool which was scenic but also noisy during day and early evening with people using it. Several families with little kids generated a lot of noise running up and down the halls and screaming which was not so hot. Hotel was not full so we avoided having people pounding the floor above us.

Pillows were cheap foam rubber, so if it matters, bring your own.

Breakfast is starch-fest, no protein source unfortunately but the rolls and juice were fine.

Free internet service was better this time, with 4 bar service. Hotel desk staff were helpful and polite.

Good value for the money and a very short work to the harbour and the beach. Free parking too!

Room Tip: ask for second floor room to avoid people pounding over your head. Also avoid rooms near elevator a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Polite and friendly service, rooms were relatively spacious and light. Mason beach inn is well situated very close to the beachfront, also only a short stroll to the sights and sounds of state street and it's numerous bars. Has the additional benefit of free parking. Would recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice hotel, very well located, staff very nice, comfortable even for the price it charges. Breakfast is pretty weak. But the hotel is actually pretty nice for the price it charges.

The beds are good, the room is clean, bathroom could be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrejbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When you pull up to this hotel, you can't help but notice how pretty everything is. I love the Spanish style architecture with all of the beautiful blooming flowers and plants. The pool and hot tub area is also lovely with large flower pots perfectly placed around the perimeters. We definitely love this location, as we were traveling with two small children and it is just close enough to walk to the beach but just far enough away to be quiet and cozy. I feel like the price of this hotel is extremely fair. I paid $715 for 5 nights.

The staff here is really what sets this place apart from the rest. Since I was traveling for business, I seemed to have a few more requirements then usual. Thanks to Brandon for helping me print out a bunch of documents the other day and then faxing them for me. Thanks to Lara in housekeeping for being so sweet and finding me an extra earring back when I lost mine and was headed out the door to an event for work. And a special BIG thanks to Joe who is so hilarious and helpful at the front desk! He checked me in on Wednesday night and had a couple of really funny stories. He is friendly, smart, and polite. He was also holding the fort down around here on Sunday night.

The bottom line is this: if you want a place to stay that is affordable, convenient, has a nice heated pool, a refrigerator in the room, and a nice continental breakfast, I would stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the beds are great!

Room Tip: The first floor is super conveniènt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bextel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Property: Mason Beach Inn
Address: 324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing