We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This is difficult hotel to rate. Approx. $300/night for a room in Santa Barbara buys very little. Our room was clean -- that's it. For this kind of money, one expects at least a good coffee maker in the room with a decent creamer, bathroom doors that close, ironing boards that don't list like the Leaning Tower of Pisa, and a decent steam iron.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

The Lemon Tree Inn is a beautiful facility built around a tropical 1-acre courtyard with a huge heated swimming pool and hydro-spa. Our guests compliment most on our spacious balconies and lanais facing the courtyard. Our on-site Restaurant and Full-Bar "Crocodile" serves delicious Santa Barbara-Style Italian cuisine for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
We have a sleek modern bar featuring deep wine and liquor cards, and interesting local and international Beers.
All our spacious rooms feature Air-Conditioning, LCD Sony televisions, Personal Safes, Coffee and Tea service, Irons Ironing Boards, Hair Dryers and Custom Bamboo-Fibre Matresses.
There is elevator service to every room, free-parking and free Wi-Fi.
The Lemon Tree Inn offers very competitive room rates all year. For the best room rates plan for weekday stays as weekends in Santa Barbara are normally highest.
Our Friendly staff is available 24 hours a day to assist with any needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 723 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were checked in by a very helpful staff, he recommended many good place to go in the downtown area. The hotel is small but staff are friendly and attention to details. We had our lunch at the crocodile restaurant, food are not bad. Rooms and washroom are a bit dark thou.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cactus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I took a romantic trip down the California coast and happened to find this hotel online while researching places to stay over our morning coffee. We love Santa Barbara but the price has always made it a day trip visit for us until now. This hotel provided all we needed for a wonderful romantic stopover. While not super close to the beach it is not really that far either and the rates are a steal compared to what we were quoted at other hotels in town!! The staff was very courteous and attentive. The property looks like a blend of older and new, this was confirmed by the staff that it underwent a large remodel addition in the late 90's and the other rooms are presently being remodeled as well. The room we had was tastfully decorated and comfortable, we did not feel as if we were deprived of anything as suggested by a couple of reviews we had read prior to staying. We had a patio and a lovely view of the very large tropical center gardens with the pool and jacuzzi that is hidden from the street view with the hotel wrapping around it. We would definitely stay here again!! I don't know of a better deal to be had in that beautiful city. I've looked at a lot of hotels there and always had to stay somewhere else do to the high cost but now I've got my golden ticket to shangri la. It might sound cheesy but I can't express how happy we are to have found a place like the Lemon Tree to stop and stay at now while we enjoy Santa Barbara without having to travel farther away for accomodations. I don't know what the people that did not like it were expecting but we travel frequently and this place surpassed our expectations and requirements. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachguy672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

We thank you for your kind review. The Lemon Tree Inn staff takes great satisfaction in succeeding with a memorable and pleasant stay for each of our guests. Your observations and kind remarks will be passed on to our department mangers and staff.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to any opportunity to accommodate your hospitality needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

On a last minute we travel to Santa Barbara, I booked this place hoping if I pay $240.00 A night , I get my money worth I was wrong, the place smell like a bathroom the room are old,. there is no complementary breakfast, the place is far away from everything. To top it, at 7 am Saturday all the maids had a convention in Spanish outside my door, And when I made my reservation it ask if I like a quite room.
If I could get my money back I check out in 20 minutes, amazing how they get away with it, I hope you post it so no one fall in this trap.
DO NOT TRY EVEN.

Room Tip: Pay $50.00 a night more near the beach, it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gowapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Our goal is 100% satisfaction and we are very sorry to not meet your expectations. We did have 2 new housekeepers that missed our rules regarding noise. We thank you for bringing this incident to our attention, so we are able to prevent further disturbances.
Our bathroom cleaning/disinfecting procedures are under review. Without proper post cleaning ventilation a residual odor can be trapped in the room.
We have the wonderful Crocodile Restaurant and Bar on site for breakfast. We do not build a Complimentary Breakfast into our rates, but as a result of guest feedback like yours we are planning to add a breakfast inclusive rate in the near future.
Our restaurant has very high quality meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices.
Santa Barbara Hotel rates are on par with other popular destinations on weekends, but bargain rates can still be found mid-week in the 3,4 and 5-star categories.
I hope this explanation helps, but regardless we regret your stay was not memorable and apologize for any shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Wow. Calling this place a dump would be a complement. $300 night for a dirty, noisy unkept moldy smelly room is the worst money I've ever spent at any motel or hotel ever! The door is not level with light coming in from 3/4ths of the door jam. The shower is dirty and grimy, and the towels feel damp. Just gross. Never have I felt so swindled from a hotel. When I asked man at the desk if the rate was correct he grinned and said we just raised rates, then said well its summer, then added well it's Santa Barbara. Folks just keep on driving and stay away from Santa Barbara if this is your choice. This room should be in the $59-79 range at best. For this kind of money spend another $100 and stay at the world class Fess Parker!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jointsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

The Lemon Tree Inn is a Beautiful property. A bad experience is something we take very seriously and are always happy to address.
Santa Barbara Hotel room rates are on par with other top California destinations on weekends, but weekday rates can be a bargain.
Our property is unique and is based on the original Lemon Tree Motor Hotel built in 1960. This Motor Hotel concept has been refined and modernized through the years through a series of additions and upgrades is now a full service Hotel.
A review of our website gives in-depth information about the Lemon Tree Inn, our on-site Crocodile Restaurant and Bar and our Sister property Orange Tree Inn.
We offer 96 well equipped guest rooms in 2 and 3 story buildings, most have a private balcony or Lanai facing our magnificent Tropical Courtyard with oversized heated swimming pool and hydro-spa. Guests enjoy the casual atmosphere and 60s feel of the property and especially our food and beverage services offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Full Bar.
The Inn's location is Central to all the Santa Barbara attractions, a quick review of a Google Map shows our proximity to Beaches, the Mountains, Wine Tasting, the Airport, the CBD, and nearby Mission Santa Barbara.
We are the Official Hotel of the Santa Barbara County Bowl. This outdoor Amphitheater hosts over 30 World-Class Concert Performances each season.
We regret anyone having an unpleasant stay, our friendly staff is happy to help our guest enjoy our property 24 hours a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was a great deal for the price. Tastefully decorated. The bathroom was a bit outdated but still fine. Great service at the front desk and the Crocodile Rest. brought our breakfast right to our patio overlooking the garden and pool. I will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We book a king bedroom for the weekend to celebrate my boyfriend birthday. We were looking for a quiet and relaxing place. The location is very nice, even if located on the main street we couldn’t hear the traffic, but the people next door were very loud. It was hard sleeping at night. The management took care of them but it took a while. They offered us an extended night for half of the price. We accepted it.
The pool and the hot spot was nice and comfortable, same with the room.
The clean service not at its best - with the cleaning lady forgetting dirty towels in the bedroom.
Oddly the hotel bar closed at 9.45pm on a Saturday night and that’s was weird.
Overall wasn’t a bed experience but we were expecting more from this place according with the review we read.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simaunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $90 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing