We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we were there for our sons wedding and stayed at this gem. The restaurant accommodated a large party after the wedding and the food was amazing!! best kept secret for sure! Great service and the best italian food in SB!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 707 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

A recent stay was a pleasant surprise. I tried to stay at a different hotel near the harbor but was turned away due to no vacancy. I asked the person at the front desk if they would recommend another place in Santa Barbara and he suggested the Lemon Tree. I pulled up to the front and was warmly greeted by a very helpful front desk staff. The beauty of this hotel is not seen from the outside but from your interior balcony. A palm and fruit tree (lemon trees and others) garden area surrounds a pool and hot tub. Don't judge a book by its cover (simple entry and 2 story motel appearance), the beauty of this hotel is on the inside (staff, room and interior grounds).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. The hotel is well located, clean and hospitable. The service is excellent, the rooms are spacious and contemporary and the pool area is large with lots of sunbeds. The restaurant is smart and the food is great.
During our stay, some young guys on leave for the week-end checked in late and woke everyone up. The noise was bad. However, the hotel reacted very well and discounted rooms for those affected. They could not have been more apologetic and I would definitely not let this put you off staying here.
My only criticism is that room service and the restaurant closed at 9.30 which was early for us and we didn't get to eat dinner. Breakfast was wonderful and overall the value was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alihutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an older motel 1960s that has had some renovations. We booked a room with 2 beds, and it took a couple of room changes to finally get a room with 2 queen beds. Our downstairs room was spacious with a slider that opened to the large heated saline pool and large hydo-spa. The property was well maintained.

The beds were comfortable. There was no closet, but an open shelved area with a coffee pot, and another area for hanging garments. Think California closet set up. There were 2 sinks one outside the toilet and tub area, and another in the tub area. This was very convenient for a family, and really helped us get going in the morning.

I walked a little ways to a CVS pharmacy and there were a couple of restaurants withing walking distance.

We however drove to Super Cuca's Taqueria after reading a review on trip advisor and we were so happy that we did...The Burritos were massive and the food delicious. See my review on trip advisor. Super Cuca's Taqueria: Massive Burritos & More

I can also recommend Fresco on State street for excellent food with a varied menu that has something for everyone.

The hotel is an easy walk to the Mission, and I really enjoyed the walk. So if you are so inclined leave the car behind, and get some exercise.

Santa Barbara Museum History 0.6
Mission Santa Barbara 0.6
Oak Park .07

Oak parks offers beautiful trees, public tennis courts, 2 playgrounds, and a wading pool for youth age seven and younger -open May-September with an on-duty lifeguard.

The fitness room is functionless, so getting out and walking is advised for some cardio if you stay for more than a few days.

Free in- room wi-fi
coffee pot

Room Tip: In the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

All rooms face the lovely pool and garden. Nice large room, two queens, with plenty of space. The room was for two adults and teen. It had been made up for two, but within a few minutes of my call to front desk, housekeeping was there to provide towels, etc for four. We stayed two nights over spring break and arrived in two cars, due to last minute work requirements. Plenty of space for the second car. A few miles from downtown, but easy to navigate since it's straight on State Street. Not far from 101 or the Mission either. About 4-5 miles from the harbour and beachers.

Good value for the money for Santa Barbara. While not the Ritz, our room seemed to have been remodeled and was a pleasant surprise. Older bathroom, but camp and very functional. It had the typical divided toilet and full bath/shower from large sink, but there was an additional pedestial sink inside the bathroom. Hair dryer,iron, ironing board, laptop size safe, and small coffee / tea set complete the room. True the towels are thin, but they are abundant.

About 15 minutes or so from UCSB, where we were visiting as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides away from the streets are quietest. Second floor or third on one half will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikingteachertustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room was away from the main traffic street on the first floor, which was fine.. The bed was better than average. Restaurant was average although the wait staff seemed a little sketchy, i.e., not well trained. Everything was alright until 4:50 in the morning when my new next-door neighbors rolled in--two young women who must have thought that this was the normal arrival time as they talked loudly for an hour, went out to their outdoor patio and continued the conversation at which point I got up, showered and left, but not before expressing my opinion regarding their behavior. The walls were so thin, I could hear almost every word. What a great start for an eight day road trip up the coast to Washington !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmbp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, General Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear cjmbp1943, Thank you for your positive remarks. We deeply regret your bad luck with an inconsiderate neighbor. We welcome the opportunity to make your next stay a more comfortable and memorable one.
Lemon Tree Inn
Santa Barbara, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Lemon Tree does not look like much from the outside but all rooms face inward to a pleasant central area with palm trees and a pool. The rooms with two bouble beds we used were clean and well presented - but very uncomfortable to sleep on. We used the restaurant but as we were a party of 6 adults 4 children were asked to only pick 3 items from the menu and received what can only be described as minimal service. On the whole the hotel was much better than expected.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanE145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We are sorry about the limitations offered to your menu choices in the Crocodile Restaurant. Our meals are prepared from scratch and with a group of 10 our staff may offer the limitation as an option to prevent a long wait time for simultaneous meal presentation. On your next visit please call ahead and we will be happy to make special preparations for your group. Once again, thank you for recognizing our Hotel with your kind observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing