We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great staff and location but thin walls!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great staff and location but thin walls!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had booked this hotel on short notice and had wanted a fairly inexpensive option that was close to downtown Santa Barbara. I stay in Santa Barbara for work sometimes and knew that State Street led directly into the heart of town so that was what I based which place I should stay at. It was a great price compared to other hotels in the area and I knew it wasn’t a high end hotel.

My friend and I had arrived extremely late and the night hotel employees were friendly, checked us in quickly, and gave us quick hotel information.

We had booked a two queen room and the room itself was quite large. The décor is what I would consider “modern” but the outside of the hotel is very retro. No fridge that I could see but there was a safe, an iron, a hair dryer, and a coffee maker. The hotel internet worked really well which made me very happy and the beds were decent to sleep on. Our room overlooked the pool area and it looked very clean and well-maintained.

I will say however, the walls are terribly thin. My friend and I had decided to sleep in the next day but were woken up by our neighbors’ loud talking through the walls. There seems to be a lot of spiders hanging out in the hotel and some came to visit us in our room but I attribute that to Santa Barbara being more bug friendly due to the climate.

I ran up and down State Street when I was there because I didn’t think there was a workout room but I did happen to walk by it on the last day after my run. Also, I was terribly thirsty after running and had gone to the lobby to ask if they had a water fountain and the front desk employee went to the on-site restaurant and got me a cup of water instead. I thought it was a very nice gesture.

Overall, I liked the staff and hotel location but the rooms needed improvement in terms of sound-proofing. Easy to drive to and from but a long walk from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPiggyQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    276
    121
    39
    35
See reviews for
169
221
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was very surprised to find the Lemon Tree Inn. It is both affordable and a great retreat with lovely pool, hot tubs and a great little restaurant with surprisingly good food. I had an injury and could not stay on our boat, so the manager found me a great room with a private patio and in this case thankfully close to the ice machine. I had everything I could need and didn't have to leave!
In fact I would go back to the Restaurant for dinner, even if I were not staying there! Now that is something!
Thanks for such great comfort and service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent last Friday & Saturday in SB for a wedding. Suggested hotels were $350+ per night. Lemon Tree got great Trip Advisor reviews for half the price, so we booked. Very clean, fantastically remodeled 1950's motel. Room appointments, free parking & wifi (that worked), close to State St, etc. The BIG PLUS here: the pool area was spectacular! Our ground floor room opened onto a small lanai with a nice outdoor table & two chairs. The walkway off our lanai led us to the generous salt water pool, twenty feet from our room! Plenty of lounge chairs & tables w/umbrellas, ice machine twenty steps away. Late afternoon sun, after walking State St in the AM. Reasonably priced beverages from the on site Crocodile Cafe & Bar. Best deal in SB. We will return.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all had great lanai's, with your own table & two chairs, and are step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here overnight in Sept 2012. We enjoyed the retro feel with some modern accessories. The patios are large and private. Hotel has been recently remodeled. Still have some modernizing of bathrooms to do.
The pool area is relaxing with lots of trees and shade. Towels were available at the front desk.
The adjacent restaurant was nice, with good food. Nothing to write home about. We sat ourside in the evening and the 1 candlelight at our table was not enough to see our food. A nice touch would be some stringed lights on the umbrellas or stretched across the area.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only negative was I noticed several spiders and bugs in the room and around the room.
Possibly would recommend an exterminator to solve this problem.
This is a nice location a short drive from downtown Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: recommend a room with the patio away from the busy State Street and it's noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonddog_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, B.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

So, clearly, this is an olderotel that has gone through recent renos to give it a modern feel. We booked this hotel on tripadvisor and it is, by far, the most reasonably priced hotel/motel we've stayed in while traveling through California.

Firstly, it's not fancy, but it's fresh and clean. It bears mention, however, that the room has a shower only so if a bath is your thing, you should be aware of that. Secondly, the bottom sheet seems to have a difficult time staying tucked in, which is quite annoying.

The service, however, is very friendly. The restaurant serves a nice meal. The pool area is very pleasant and there seem to be grounds people constantly doing upkeep, and it shows.

We are on the ground level of this two story motel so we are lucky enough to have a glass sliding door to a seating area overlooking the pool area, which has made for some pleasant reading time.

We originally intended to stay three nights in Santa Barbara but were enjoying it here so much, we're extending our stay to four.

I would stay here again, if only for the price and the great service staff...and the patio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you want to have a sleepless night, stay in this hotel. Poor noise isolation between the rooms. Beds are hard as a rocks. Room was ok. Carpet contains some stains. BR towels need major upgrade. I'm not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32847Traveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are pleased to announce that since your stay in April 2012 we have replaced our beds and carpet. In addition we also replaced our furniture and many other enhancements that will surely provide a completely upgraded experience over your stay 5 months ago. Our restaurant has just received a new Breakfast menu which is offered 7 days a week. The Lemon Tree Inn is constantly upgrading and improving and we thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
299 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My sister and brother-in-law live in Santa Barbara and recommended this little hotel/motel since it's close to their house and because they frequent the Crocodile Bar/Restaurant that is part of the facility. I rented a room on the ground floor with sliding glass doors going out to a little patio overlooking the swimming pool. There were actual LEMON TREES everywhere, so that came in handy for adding to a refreshing cold beer! The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable. You can tell it's an older facility, but they've done a pretty good job of doing a modern facelift. The only thing I didn't like was the exterior doors. MANY places in SB have exposed exterior doors, even the Montecito Inn, so no worries. I'll be back to the Lemon Tree!

Room Tip: Request a room that is not on the side of the hotel backing up to State street and I'm sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
0.7 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Orange Tree Inn
Orange Tree Inn
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#29 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Property: Lemon Tree Inn
Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing