We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property, Reasonably Priced.”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Property, Reasonably Priced.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent last Friday & Saturday in SB for a wedding. Suggested hotels were $350+ per night. Lemon Tree got great Trip Advisor reviews for half the price, so we booked. Very clean, fantastically remodeled 1950's motel. Room appointments, free parking & wifi (that worked), close to State St, etc. The BIG PLUS here: the pool area was spectacular! Our ground floor room opened onto a small lanai with a nice outdoor table & two chairs. The walkway off our lanai led us to the generous salt water pool, twenty feet from our room! Plenty of lounge chairs & tables w/umbrellas, ice machine twenty steps away. Late afternoon sun, after walking State St in the AM. Reasonably priced beverages from the on site Crocodile Cafe & Bar. Best deal in SB. We will return.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms all had great lanai's, with your own table & two chairs, and are step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    302
    124
    42
    38
See reviews for
189
234
23
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here overnight in Sept 2012. We enjoyed the retro feel with some modern accessories. The patios are large and private. Hotel has been recently remodeled. Still have some modernizing of bathrooms to do.
The pool area is relaxing with lots of trees and shade. Towels were available at the front desk.
The adjacent restaurant was nice, with good food. Nothing to write home about. We sat ourside in the evening and the 1 candlelight at our table was not enough to see our food. A nice touch would be some stringed lights on the umbrellas or stretched across the area.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only negative was I noticed several spiders and bugs in the room and around the room.
Possibly would recommend an exterminator to solve this problem.
This is a nice location a short drive from downtown Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: recommend a room with the patio away from the busy State Street and it's noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonddog_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, B.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

So, clearly, this is an olderotel that has gone through recent renos to give it a modern feel. We booked this hotel on tripadvisor and it is, by far, the most reasonably priced hotel/motel we've stayed in while traveling through California.

Firstly, it's not fancy, but it's fresh and clean. It bears mention, however, that the room has a shower only so if a bath is your thing, you should be aware of that. Secondly, the bottom sheet seems to have a difficult time staying tucked in, which is quite annoying.

The service, however, is very friendly. The restaurant serves a nice meal. The pool area is very pleasant and there seem to be grounds people constantly doing upkeep, and it shows.

We are on the ground level of this two story motel so we are lucky enough to have a glass sliding door to a seating area overlooking the pool area, which has made for some pleasant reading time.

We originally intended to stay three nights in Santa Barbara but were enjoying it here so much, we're extending our stay to four.

I would stay here again, if only for the price and the great service staff...and the patio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you want to have a sleepless night, stay in this hotel. Poor noise isolation between the rooms. Beds are hard as a rocks. Room was ok. Carpet contains some stains. BR towels need major upgrade. I'm not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32847Traveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are pleased to announce that since your stay in April 2012 we have replaced our beds and carpet. In addition we also replaced our furniture and many other enhancements that will surely provide a completely upgraded experience over your stay 5 months ago. Our restaurant has just received a new Breakfast menu which is offered 7 days a week. The Lemon Tree Inn is constantly upgrading and improving and we thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
373 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My sister and brother-in-law live in Santa Barbara and recommended this little hotel/motel since it's close to their house and because they frequent the Crocodile Bar/Restaurant that is part of the facility. I rented a room on the ground floor with sliding glass doors going out to a little patio overlooking the swimming pool. There were actual LEMON TREES everywhere, so that came in handy for adding to a refreshing cold beer! The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable. You can tell it's an older facility, but they've done a pretty good job of doing a modern facelift. The only thing I didn't like was the exterior doors. MANY places in SB have exposed exterior doors, even the Montecito Inn, so no worries. I'll be back to the Lemon Tree!

Room Tip: Request a room that is not on the side of the hotel backing up to State street and I'm sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O-Lora-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

PRICE - $215 total, one night, one room, queen comfortable bed, for weekend night in August. This was one of only a few locations in Santa Barbara that allowed a one-night stay, which is what we required.
LOCATION – In a neighborhood, with an easy straight shot down main street to downtown and waterfront, and a two-minute drive to the Santa Barbara Mission. Two story building with an inner courtyard and pool, and a restaurant.
ROOM –Bedroom and bathroom and outdoor balcony, neatly decorated. Bedroom included bed, small table and chairs, flat screen TV. View out into nice and large inner courtyard that included pool, hot tub, and outdoor seating for the restaurant. Bathroom was a little dated, but clean.
STAFF – Very friendly and helpful.
OTHER – Main reason for booking was that we could stay only one night on a weekend, due to travel requirements. Turned out to be great find with a great location - easy access to Santa Barbara Mission, downtown Santa Barbara, and California Route 1 highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EasternUSA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

All rooms surround the lovely terraced garden with pool. Poolside takeout from the very good Crocodile restaurant is available. The rooms are large with comfortable beds and each room has french doors opening onto a patio with table and chairs which turns out to be agreat place for group gatherings. There is a vanity and sink outside the bathroom which is helpful when 2 people are getting ready at the same time. The bathroom is clean, adequate but basic, the towels very thin.
The back rooms suffer from being near a generator which sounds as if planes are constantly taking off. Room 111 is fine except the patio is completely enclosed with some opaque material so you cannot lookout at the garden nor can you open it so you walk to the pool.
Look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The back rooms suffer from generator noise. 111 has no pool/garden view or access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orange Tree Inn
Orange Tree Inn
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Property: Lemon Tree Inn
Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing