We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel-bad service at the restaurant!”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel-bad service at the restaurant!”
Reviewed February 15, 2007

I stayed her with 7 other girls for my bachelorette party! The view was great and the staff was friendly! The only negative comment was our waitress at the attached restaurant. I think she was hungover or something, but the food itself was excellent! This hotel isn't really a "bacheloretty" type place, but it worked for us! It was great!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    449
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
308
648
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Stayed here for one night as part of a two week trip to California. This hotel was by far the best we stayed in. Excellent location just opposite the pier. On first pulling in looks slighly motelish but dont be fooled. Decor to high standard throught. Stunning room with high ceilings, lots of space and the most gorgous bathroom. Staff very polite and we found to be incredibly helpful. Wished that we had planned to spend more nights here but will definately be back!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank pjpuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canuck in Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

The Harbor View Inn at Santa Barbara was the third stop on our vacation and what a great location! Right across from the beach and Stearns wharf. The pool area looked good, but being December we didn’t try it out. Our room was decent, but it really needed to be painted. It was certainly one of the un-renovated rooms. The bathroom was large and had a separate tub and shower (great if you are traveling with kids). There were some nice amenities in the room - complimentary bottled water, smoked pistachios and a great street map of Santa Barbara. The hotel assisted us with dinner reservations and we had some wonderful seafood at The FisHouse. I have to add that our agent found us a really amazing rate for this hotel. I would have felt quite overcharged to pay the regular rate. That being said, we loved Santa Barbara and would return to this hotel if we found a good rate. We returned to the Orlando Hotel in LA after leaving SB.

  • Liked — location, location
  • Disliked — room needed repair
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here for one night, checking out Christmas Eve. The property exceeded our expectations. It was beautiful. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool, with the ocean in the background. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

The location was excellent, being right across the street from the pier and the beach.

However, Harbor View Inn stood out because of the extremely helpful and polite staff. Everyone we talked to, bar none, went out of their way to give excellent customer service. They were even mopping the parking lot on Christmas Eve day! We've never had such a pleasant hotel experience.

  • Liked — Location, friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattlepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

We loved this hotel. The rooms were great. Beds were really comfortable. Even though we did not have an ocean view room our view of the city and mountains was wonderful. Parking was easy and convenient. Beds were turned down and mints left on the nightstand. The bathrooms were spacious and the shower was terrific. We also loved the location.....on the corner of State and Cabrillo. We walked to the wharf for dinner. We also took advantage of the shuttle that took us to shopping on State street and it only cost a quarter! This is our new favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. Looking forward to going when weather is warmer and using the beautiful pool.

  • Liked — Loved everything about the room.
  • Disliked — Liked everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — Either ocean view or city view would be great.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

We stayed at the Harbor View Inn passing through and were impressed by the service.
The first time we came I forgot my slippers and mentioned it to the bell boy and he tried to find some for me. When we returned two weeks later, the same bell boy greeted us and remembered about my slippers.
The service was great and timely while we were there and then after I returned home I realized I left all my jewelry and a substantial amount of money in the safe in my room. I called the hotel and as soon as I asked they told me they were expecting my call and that they had my belongings.
The hotel referred me to the manager who had already taken inventory and said he would send everything to me immediately. Since a lot of it was cash, the hotel wrote me a check and sent it that day along with my jewelry and a couple of airline tickets.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to Santa Barbara, the location is gorgeous, the rooms are very nice and very clean and the service was fabulous.
Thank you very much

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Great location. Excellent view of the ocean. Walk right to the pier. At the end of State street, which holds an abundence of restaurants and shops. Clean hotel with extra touches. A paper was at our doorstep in the morning, a free large bottle of Fiji water and nuts. We stayed in the newer wing and had an excellent room. Liked the decor, large wood shutters covered the slider and wood beams adorned the ceiling. Mosaics everywhere, and the plasma on the wall was a good touch. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Lots of style and feels very comfortable.

  • Liked — location and room!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bzemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing