We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location has its price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location has its price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the harbor front as well as the train station. For the amount charged, I was expecting a nicer room. One with a view would have been even more expensive. I'd say the quality is comparable to a good Best Western. It was clean and comfortable. So they charge what the market will bear. What I didn't like is that they charged my credit card $50/day for incidentals ahead of time--even though I didn't incur any during our stay. When I checked out, I was told that the outstanding balance would charged to my credit card. But I checked my credit card charges online, I found that they had already charged that and $100 more for potential incidentals. When I called to enquire about the excess, they said it was their normal procedure and that the $100 for potential incidentals would be credited in a few day--taking up to a week. I travel quite often, and have never come across this practice before in hotels or rental cars where additional charges might be incurred. It's misleading and confusing. What's more, it was never explained as such until I questioned the charges after the fact.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    407
    103
    39
    35
See reviews for
266
568
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location It's got it all. Right on the shore, close to the office and great restaurants. Big well fitted rooms. Bath and shower. Breakfast in the restaurant was superb. My room had a sea view and I had coffee on the balcony and watched the sub come up. Yes jet lag has its advantages

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in July with two rooms overlooking the pool and across the beach to the ocean. We had adjacent rooms, which we had requested, so that our teenagers were next door to us. From arrival all the way through our stay the front desk were incredibly pleasant and helpful giving us some good advice and assistance with making bookings and suggesting what to see and do during our short stay in Santa Barbara. We had a hire car and there was plentiful parking in the grounds of the hotel with much of it shaded which was helpful. Our rooms were good sized and the Molton Brown products in the large bathrooms were a nice touch. The pool, whilst not huge, has good space around it so you can relax either close to the water or in a quieter spot further away. The pool bar shuts slightly early at 5pm but otherwise we had no issues with anything and would happily stop off here again if we are in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and facing the ocean are worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided to end our tour of California with four days in Santa Barbara and booked the Harbor View Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our stay there.

From check in to check out the staff were courteous and efficient, making sure our stay was perfect. We were given room 312, which we found out is the most requested room in the hotel. We could see why this would be the case as the room is very large, with a huge balcony looking out over the hotel pool and the beach/marina. It is like a small penthouse. House services kept this room and it's large bathroom spotlessly clean. On mornings when we had a lay in, house services came back later to make our room up with no fuss.

The hotel has a small pool/spa complex with waiter service for drinks and lunch, there are also nice gardens with sun loungers. There is also a gym and our room has an ice machine outside the door.

We normally ate breakfast at the Eladio's, which is part of the hotel. The Scrambled Salmon Tower was the best breakfast we had in all of our trip.

The hotel is perfectly located. Stearn's Wharf Pier is opposite, the marina with its nice bars and restaurants is a 5 minute walk State Street (the main area for bars and restaurants) is next to the hotel. The best restaurant we found was Toma and this is a 2 minute walk along the beach front (well worth visit!!).

We were very sorry to leave the hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for some chilled relaxation on the California Riviera. Ask for room 312!!

Room Tip: Room 312 is the best in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Attending a recent wedding in Santa Barbara, I stayed 6 nights at the Harbor View Inn which I had selected from internet advertising and talking with management. My room was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach and ocean with a view of both the pier to the left, and the marina to the right. It was so nice, that my friends would meet me at my room to have cocktails on the balcony before we left for dinner. I could walk the beach or to nearby restaurants and shops. The staff was attentive and friendly. I had rented a car and hardly used it. It would be my hotel of choice on a repeat stay. It was just what I wanted.....Linda O

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have cathedral ceilings for a very spacious feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Located right on the beach front in view of the pier.
Rooms are fantastic, lots of space with a view of the ocean and the pool. Would definately stay here again.Our room had two small balconies, one to the side and one overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHL1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View for 5 nights and just loved the place. We had a sea-view room overlooking the pool and it was excellent. Well equipped and with a bed we really liked plus a small balcony to drink "sun-downers" - what more could one want. The pool and hot tub area was cleaned every day and set in very well kept gardens. The adjoining restaurant was in keeping with the high standards of the hotel producing excellent food in quite large quantities. What really made this such a pleasant stay was the friendliness of all the staff. Yes I would definitely stay here again WHEN we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busdriver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing