We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position on the beachfront”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in July with two rooms overlooking the pool and across the beach to the ocean. We had adjacent rooms, which we had requested, so that our teenagers were next door to us. From arrival all the way through our stay the front desk were incredibly pleasant and helpful giving us some good advice and assistance with making bookings and suggesting what to see and do during our short stay in Santa Barbara. We had a hire car and there was plentiful parking in the grounds of the hotel with much of it shaded which was helpful. Our rooms were good sized and the Molton Brown products in the large bathrooms were a nice touch. The pool, whilst not huge, has good space around it so you can relax either close to the water or in a quieter spot further away. The pool bar shuts slightly early at 5pm but otherwise we had no issues with anything and would happily stop off here again if we are in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and facing the ocean are worth paying the extra for
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Harbor View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided to end our tour of California with four days in Santa Barbara and booked the Harbor View Inn. We could not have been more pleased with our stay there.

From check in to check out the staff were courteous and efficient, making sure our stay was perfect. We were given room 312, which we found out is the most requested room in the hotel. We could see why this would be the case as the room is very large, with a huge balcony looking out over the hotel pool and the beach/marina. It is like a small penthouse. House services kept this room and it's large bathroom spotlessly clean. On mornings when we had a lay in, house services came back later to make our room up with no fuss.

The hotel has a small pool/spa complex with waiter service for drinks and lunch, there are also nice gardens with sun loungers. There is also a gym and our room has an ice machine outside the door.

We normally ate breakfast at the Eladio's, which is part of the hotel. The Scrambled Salmon Tower was the best breakfast we had in all of our trip.

The hotel is perfectly located. Stearn's Wharf Pier is opposite, the marina with its nice bars and restaurants is a 5 minute walk State Street (the main area for bars and restaurants) is next to the hotel. The best restaurant we found was Toma and this is a 2 minute walk along the beach front (well worth visit!!).

We were very sorry to leave the hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for some chilled relaxation on the California Riviera. Ask for room 312!!

Room Tip: Room 312 is the best in the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Attending a recent wedding in Santa Barbara, I stayed 6 nights at the Harbor View Inn which I had selected from internet advertising and talking with management. My room was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach and ocean with a view of both the pier to the left, and the marina to the right. It was so nice, that my friends would meet me at my room to have cocktails on the balcony before we left for dinner. I could walk the beach or to nearby restaurants and shops. The staff was attentive and friendly. I had rented a car and hardly used it. It would be my hotel of choice on a repeat stay. It was just what I wanted.....Linda O

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have cathedral ceilings for a very spacious feel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Located right on the beach front in view of the pier.
Rooms are fantastic, lots of space with a view of the ocean and the pool. Would definately stay here again.Our room had two small balconies, one to the side and one overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHL1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor View for 5 nights and just loved the place. We had a sea-view room overlooking the pool and it was excellent. Well equipped and with a bed we really liked plus a small balcony to drink "sun-downers" - what more could one want. The pool and hot tub area was cleaned every day and set in very well kept gardens. The adjoining restaurant was in keeping with the high standards of the hotel producing excellent food in quite large quantities. What really made this such a pleasant stay was the friendliness of all the staff. Yes I would definitely stay here again WHEN we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busdriver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has it all, fabulous rooms, large comfortable beds, fantastic bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful, the car parking is ample. The location is across the road from the beach and pier. We mistakenly only stayed the one night on our trip south, a big mistake, at least two would be much better. You can catch a bus around the corner to 'Downtown' which again is a class act for the shoppers. There is a café/restaurant adjoining the hotel which is great to be able to sit in the garden eating breakfast or lunch. Will definitely stay again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a sea view do it, we had a 'partial' which was ground floor, it was fa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK_JKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Harbor View is in a great location, has everything you expect a good hotel to have. The staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome. Parking was $10/night, and was in the back of the hotel. The hotel has a coffee shop and bar/restaurant next door which patrons get 10% off at. Rooms were a good size, with a mini bar and safe and the hotel was clean and tidy. My only criticism was that the bed was on the soft side (I personally like a hard mattress). We had a great stay and I would have loved to stay longer than the two nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $276 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing