We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“beach front views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“beach front views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, staff very friendly, recommended restaurants and local attractions, we had oceanfront room which was spectacular, just stood and stared. The area is gorgeous, can walk everywhere, close to downtown stores and bars. Not many tourists although a cruise ship was off the beach, Romantic.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    438
    110
    45
    39
See reviews for
293
619
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Paying almost $400 per night we got a tired 60tys motel room , with a view of stagnant water to the rear. They charged extra charged for drinking water, and parking 1/2 mile away. Overall a bad experience to be avoided.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry to hear we did not provide the stay that we want all our guests to enjoy. If our service fell short I am as disappointed that I did not hear about your issues when you were here. My family bought this property in 1985 and I am a General Contractor and built all the building here on property the first was in 1985 and the most resend was our North wing which I completed in 2006. We are currently starting a remodel of all our rooms this week to update colors and soft goods. I hope you will give us a try again and let me know what you think. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoBVallarta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were just at the Harbor View Inn with our family--perfect location, near the pier. Our grandchildren--4years and 8--fell ion love with the pool!!! We are a fussy family believe me--but everything was top shelf--they catered to the children and it was a perfect family vacation--we hope to go back---thanking everyone who made it such a great family vacation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elinor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely, lovely stay. Great location..walking distance from the beach. Rooms are nice and spacious, clean and staff is very accommodating. Highly recommend!

West Beach..where the hotel is..feels a bit touristy. I'd recommend going to east beach which is only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. A bit more quiet and nicer.

If you are looking for restaurant recommendations: Cava, The Lark were fabulous and the boat house on Hendri's beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Everything that could go wrong went wrong. After booking a room for nearly $390 a night we were looking forward to a relaxing trip and expecting excellent customer service. Nonexistent.

It just gets worse if you can imagine it. Major security breach occurred when the front desk gave us a room key that was being occupied and imagine the faces of the occupants (and us) when we opened the door. Everyone has bad days and I get it but to have sequentially a bucket list is ridiculous.

I will say that the rooms are nice and beds are comfortable but it all starts with the front desk. If they can rally the staff to reflect the Inn, they could be five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I want to Thank-you for letting me know about our service failures during your stay. I am sorry my staff gave you the wrong keys to your room putting you in a very uncomfortable position that should have never happened. I am glad you had a few positive comments for us but I understand your late of wanting to give us another try. Please call me directly if you are coming to Santa Barbara and let me try to convince you to stay with us. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is almost on the corner of State Street & Ocean Boulevard - the street that runs along the ocean.  None of the hotels are directly on the beach because Ocean Blvd is between the ocean & the hotels.  Also the area of State Street where the fun restaurants & shops are located is 3 or 4 blocks from the hotel.  Harbor View Inn is in a good location to take advantage of shops, restaurants, beach & pier.

We recently stayed 3 nights in a standard room with 2 queen beds.  Our room was very spacious & comfortable.  The decor is somewhat dated but we spent little time in our room - there is so much to see & do in Santa Barbara & the weather is so pleasant that outside activities are inviting.  Check in & out was simple & efficient.

The pool area is very nice & has a snack bar that serves ice cream, soft drinks & mixed drinks.  I think you can also order sandwiches.  There is a small restaurant adjacent to the hotel that serves meals & has nice outdoor patio seating. The hotel charges for everything from disposable shavers to bottled water (not much complimentary here so be sure to pack needed items).

We were surprised by the number of foreign languages spoken by guests at the hotel pool.  There must be some connection with European travel agencies.

We had a pleasant stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trip Advisor from Dallas, TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were booked for a week, but left after 60 hours! Hotel is old, smelly, and in desperate need of updates! We had the most expensive suite for our honeymoon thinking it was awesome based on pics we've seen on their website. Wrong wrong! Spa? Really? Where exactly is this? Fitness area? Give me a break! Old equipment, broken down weights machines and so hot we could hardly breath, even after asking maid to please turn on a/c!
Room was big and clean and views were awesome, but NOT worth the 600.00 per night! Service sucked! We waited 1-1/2 days to get towels we asked for upon arrival.
Never again!

Room Tip: Recent building in area was going on at 5:30 am!! Jack hammers echoed thru our heads! Elderly Neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#20 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing