We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Across the street from the beach and pier, 5 block walk to the shops and restaurants of State street (downtown). Street in front of the hotel is busy during the day, but this whole end of the city goes to sleep early, and is quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMarriedInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is great,just across the Pier and beach.A oceanview room is worth it.The price is pretty high,a little bit out of age interior,but clean.Poolgarden very nice.Close to everything without car.Over all worth while a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Surprised my wife and two kids for a quick get away weekend and stopped at harbor view inn for the night. Yelp and other hotel search engines gives it 4stars. Uh 4stars not so much. Checking in for a standard room while waiting for the room to be ready we checked out the pool area so we decided to change our room to a pool side view partially ocean view (because standard room has a view of parking area) they call us and tell us our room is ready and she sees that I have a large stroller with two kids fails to mention that the elevator is on the other side of where our room was also fails to mention that there is at least three small flights of stairs to get to our room after you get off of the elevator. We still had to take our kids out of the stroller. when I called her to let her know that she failed to mention the stairs she said with a attitude (well thats why I was putting you in the standard room sir! )(Chelsea) So I said I didn't want that room because of the poor view of the room. Anyway I stuck it out for my wife. Finally in our room. Didn't want to go out for dinner because of the hassle of stroller! Not good for handy cap people at all. Finally just said let's go to the pool and hang there. Get to pool and there is more small steps (where are the ramps!!) people with kids know what I'm talking about. strollers make your life easier with two kids. Well not here! Be prepare to carry it everywhere. You have to pay alot more for a room with a decent view and easy access to room from elevator. Oh and to top it all off the AC did not work. When I checked out I said I had a few complaints and all she said to me
was, sorry to here that. We will get the AC checked right away and proceeded to ask me if everything on the bill was correct. I feel I didn't get what I paid for at all. Little pricy for average rooms. Would not stay here again!! Nor recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arellanoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I want to Thank-you for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay at the Harbor View Inn I have to say we did not provide you with the stay you expected. I am sorry for that. As we are a custom Design Hotel to fit the keeping of a Landmark Spanish area of Santa Barbara with that we do have a few rooms that can only be accessed by a few stairs I am sorry we did not make sure you did not have to use stairs. 98% of our rooms are completely Handicap accessible and stroller friendly. We do have ramps to the pool area and all other public areas of our property. Please we hope when you are in Santa Barbara you will try us again and Thank-you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location and wonderful views. Spacious and reasonably priced room with a quite nice
restaurant attached. What's not to like?

Very friendly and helpful staff. Above and beyond the call to send some things left behind in
the room to the next hotel on our trip. All good in our experience.

PS Still will never rent from Alamo again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at Harbor View. The hotel has some of the best views in the area. Ask for an upper level room and the suites are best. The price per night is generally reasonable for a hotel of this class. I would rate this a three star however not the four star its listed as. Like all Cali hotels this one has a rather prominent sign out front regarding dangerous substances on the premiss. This is simply referring to pool cleaners, additives Hotel's use for cleaning, and certain chemicals for de-greasing. We asked and this is what we were told. I have stayed at other Cali hotels and sometimes see these notices, sometimes don't. The hotel is a great choice for visiting the area. The rooms are clean, service is good. Parking for right on the beach is adequate.Weekends are busy and you might have to use their parking overflow lot a short walk away. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Select a 3rd floor room. The suites are great of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rbertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed with the family in a double room, it was a pleasant hotel and well located with the beach across the road and Main street just on the corner. We don't usually use hotel restaurants but husband with broken leg meant he could only hop so far. Eladios was a nice clean and pleasant restaurant and with the 10% off for hotel guests made it an affordable option.

First night we had a rattle in the bathroom roof which sounded as if a team of mice typists were hard at work. Told reception in the morning and it was fixed within 20 minutes wish I had gone down at 3am to complain rather than lie awake.

Just across the road at the start of the pier is a small tram which for 50 cents takes you 14 blocks up Main Street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Well the water was warm only in the shower never hot. I phoned reception who told me well everyone must be having a shower in your wing so hop out and wait 10 minutes. Not impressed! Tried again later same story maintenance guy had a look but couldn't fix. Next day water still only warm.

Ask for ocean view room hat is worth it. Kids enjoyed pool. Had to walk quite a way for a 7/11 for milk. Oh and if your looking for coffee nearest Starbucks is a good 15 minute walk. View from our room attached

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Happy_relaxed_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I wanted to Thank-you for letting us know about your stay with us this weekend. I have informed our head of maintenance to address your hot water issue. I am glad you enjoyed our pool area.
We do serve Starbucks Coffee both in room service at our pool Bar and in our Restaurant Eladio's. We also have a coffee bar on property State Street Coffee that servers Starbucks products. Again Thank-you for taking the time to write a response and we hope you will stay with us again. Mark A. Romasanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $271 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing