We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, beautiful grounds, and a perfect location”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our friends and us were in Santa Barbara for just one night, our third stop on a week-long road trip, and we booked Harbor View Inn based on the reviews in TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed when we arrived to find the hotel located directly across from the beach and the wharf. The rooms are large, up-to-date, and well appointed. We had a room with a King bed, which was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool clean and surrounded by a large open area for sunning or just hanging out. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful, providing excellent recommendations for food and shopping.

Room Tip: If you want quick access to the pool, ask for a room in the West Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on the 3rd floor, ocean view rooms. Negatives first. The balcony was small, (didn't bother us) but the view was gorgeous. The second floor ocean view had room for 2 lounge chairs, so if you want to lay out, request those. The housekeeping and bellboys knock and then without pause open the door. I was caught in my panties twice. They could have paused to give me a chance to open. I guess it was my fault for not putting the extra lock on the door.

The location was great. Right across from the wharf and a ten minute walk from downtown state street. The beach right in front did not have waves, it was closed in by the harbor and the wharf. Beach further north was a but nicer. Wheels of fun surrey rentals were a lot of fun for our family. Wharf has a sea center that is great for the kids too...

The rooms were clean, a good size, updated, and pretty. Separate shower and large tub.

AAA discounts.

Pool was small and a bit cool... but still nice. The wading pool was great, only 1.5' deep... perfect for my one year old.

They gave us a late check-out... 2pm instead of 12. That was awesome, it gave my little one a time to nap before driving home...

Would probably try a different place next time, but glad we stayed there once!

Room Tip: Ocean view was great! Every once in a while it was a bit noisy because of the street, but hey, the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrated 34 yrs of marriage by taking the train from San Diego to Santa Barbara and stayed at the Harbor View Inn. We loved our room with 2 balconies, 1 overlooking the pool and the other the beach and warf. We liked having the coffee shop and the restaurant right on the property. The location was perfect, near the train station and the ocean. We were able to walk everywhere and enjoyed not having the stress of driving. Not too sure about the Tourism Marketing Asst charge on our bill, but it was only $2 a night and we will definately stay at the Harbor View Inn again next time we're in Santa Barbara

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NXB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was a nice surprise for my family , the location is perfect, the rooms are cozy, well maintened and very clean, the bathroom is big and very nice with wood ceiling and separate areas for shower and bath tub., we receive a bottle of cold cider in our room as a welcome present, the service is also excelent, the front desk staff is very nice and helpful, thanks to Berenice for gave us the right recommendations and help.

The gardens and the hotel surroundings are full of plants and flowers.
We highly recommend this pretty property and we will back soon!!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a nice patio and are close to the gardens and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesusmexicali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

On our late February automobile trip to southern California we stayed in two hotels in Santa Barbara, the Canary Kimpton in downtown, and the Harbor View Inn at the beach. Both hotels play in the same price league. Both locations offer singular advantages. The downtown location is an urban walking and shopping experience. The beach location is about access to water, boats and sand. The two hotels differ in the amenities that enhance each experience.
The Harbor View Inn is a two story complex occupying an entire city block. The original buildings appear to have been constructed in the late 1940's. The block square site is bisected diagonally by a concrete lined, fresh water drainage channel. Recent additions to the hotel were constructed on the opposite side of the channel and are connected to the original part by a foot bridge. The hotel does not provide valet service, you drive to your room location and transport your own luggage.
We reserved a standard king room at the Harbor View, at about $275 per night before taxes. Upon check-in check we were offered an upgrade to a superior king room for about twenty dollars more per night which we eagerly accepted. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel on the opposite side of the drainage channel. The superior king room was quite generous, as large as some studio apartments. There is a generous tile paved balcony with comfortable outdoor furniture, an excellent place to enjoy food and drinks brought back to the room. Our balcony had a narrow but enjoyable view of the harbor and ocean beyond. The bathroom included a comfortable soaking tub and shower separated by a partial glass partition with door. The toilet is in a separate compartment with a sliding door. Two people can be in the bathroom easily at the same time. The bathroom was well stocked and room maintenance appeared to be excellent. Our room faced the interior of the block, thus we were shielded from street noises which did not seem loud in any case.
The interior colors, finishes and room furnishings want to suggest a generic Mediterranean theme with Greek and Roman references. That said, the brown, grey, and cinnamon red theme colors chosen do not acknowledge the ocean a block away, and feel incongruous in that setting. Though the generous size is relaxing, the room could be anywhere.
We regretted the lack of an immediate and inviting lobby bar and restaurant. The Harbor View Inn has small, coffee shop sized facility in a separate building near the main entry which serves as both the hotel bar and restaurant. To be sure, if you want something very low key and casual, literally coffee shop tables, it will fill the bill. There are other restaurants and bars within a few blocks walk. There are restaurant opportunities on the boardwalk and on the end of state street as you walk back into town. In my view, a hotel in this price league should have an inviting bar and restaurant with an atmosphere that captures the location accessible from the lobby.
In sum, the appeal at the Harbor View Inn is the opportunity for a generous room across the street from the ocean and the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paramount81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel location and neighborhood. And room service was great! However, I was disappointed with the hotel front desk. I requested an early check-in, but when we arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm, we were told that our early check-in wasn't a guarantee and we would receive a phone call when our room was ready. After 2 hours of waiting, we didn't get checked into our room until 4-4:15pm. I looked at the hotel statement, and we were charged tourism fee for $2, plus charged twice for room charge. I was told someone from accounting would call me to go over my charges, but no one called to follow-up. Prior to making reservations at Harbor View Inn, I called several times to confirm reservations or ask questions, I was placed on hold and immediately hung-up on. It was really difficult to speak with anyone on the phone, even to confirm reservations. I wouldn't consider Harbor View Inn four stars, there were notable stains on the ceiling; however, our room was very comfortable and spacious. Next time, I'll make reservations at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 891JenniferK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

They did a nice job renovating this hotel right on Cabrillo and State St across from Stearns Wharf. We had a giant corner room with ocean view and 2 balconies. Easy walk up State St to restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff and very clean hotel. Cabrillo can get a little loud in the morning but waking up to that view was definitely worth it. A little pricey but what do you expect in Santa Barbara during spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izsme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
859 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $271 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing