We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location & friendly service”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location & friendly service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice & found it to be great both times.
The rooms are nicely appointed & large. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are large with a walk in shower & separate bathtub. Toiletries are by Molten Brown. The pool area is not large but adequate with a pool bar for drinks & snacks. The location is great! Across from the ocean & Stearns Wharf. It is on the corner of State Street so an easy walk to lots of restaurants & shopping. Nice landscaping & parking is easy ( a $10 nightly fee). They have their own coffee shop that gives a 10% discount for those staying at the Inn. The spa is small but has everything you would want in a spa & the private jacuzzi is a good place to relax.
Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mzdsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    443
    111
    45
    40
See reviews for
297
640
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel this weekend for a wedding Anniversary, the hotel placed a bottle of champagne and a nice note which was very nice and unexpected. The room was clean and we had a view overlooking the pool and the ocean, the price was high but may be because of Presidents Day Weekend and availability which seemed to be ZERO in Santa BArbara this weekend. I used the front desk a couple of times for requests and they were polite and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel and I was going to use the gym but it looked very cramped and without a TV that I could see so I ran along the beach, better choice anyway.
Overall the hotel was very pleasant, the location was excellent and everything else lived up to our expaectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location if you love the beach and want the convenience of the trolley taking you to shops and restaurants. Room was spacious and we had a great view of State Street from our balcony. Very quiet at night. Beds were very comfy. I wish breakfast was included, but aside from that, ideal spot for our needs. We will stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 3boysnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having stayed at other 4 star hotels this one seems to fall short. The rooms were fine but the furniture was tired and worn. The overall stay seemed more like a 2 or 3 star experience. There was nobody in sight to help with bags, you just park your car in a carport and drag your stuff up yourself. I felt like I was checking into a Days Inn instead of a room I just paid $260 a night for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel offers beautiful views of Santa Barbara's waterfront & Stearns Wharf.The proximity to State Street and all the restaurants and shops is excellent.
We stayed for nine nights over Christmas.Our room was on the third floor overlooking the pool, ocean and Stearn's Wharf.Loved the vaulted ceiling, the flat screen TV, separate couch and sitting area.Well appointed room, really nice bathroom, separate shower, nice soaking tub. Product is Molton Brown which is nice. Our room was very clean and well taken care of.
This hotel is extremely quiet and totally non smoking.
After 20 odd stays in Santa Barbara we've found a new favorite in the Harbor View Inn. We'll be back in June!

Room Tip: Third floor, ocean & pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We usually travel the week between Christmas and New Year's to unwind.... We were more than impressed with the accomodations and staff at the Harbor View Inn. We had an ocean view room with a king bed. This large room also had a large, private patio which made the sunrises and sunsets easy to enjoy. The bed was incredible....lush and comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with a wonderful separate large bathtub, fit for kings and queens. The staff was friendly and full of local recommendations. We will be back:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarysSoaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location across from the beach in Santa Barbara. Walk to Stearn's Wharf, the harbor and the electric trolley for State Street. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, too. Note: if you happen to be assigned to room 229, you'll be right across from housekeeping for that building. Don't expect to sleep in - they start early.

Room Tip: Room 229 is across from housekeeping and they start early. You won't be able to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmlgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing