We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel just gets everything right.
Reception staff were very welcoming, efficient and helpful. We were offered a fantastic upgrade deal to a huge room on the front with enormous balcony with full sea view - we didn't need any persuading!
The room was really comfortable and clean with high quality complimentary toiletries (Molton Brown). The location can't be beaten with views that sum up the Californian dream (beach, palm trees, ocean etc etc), and close to Stearn's Wharf and other restaurants and shops.
Service was excellent in all areas that we used - reception, pool bar, car park guys.
We loved Santa Barbara's cool, chilled out, friendly vibe and can't wait to return - we would definitely opt to stay at the Harbor View Inn again.

Room Tip: It's worth paying to upgrade to a room on the front with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    446
    112
    45
    40
See reviews for
302
644
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As someone who holds her hotel rewards points close to her heart, I was nervous booking in Santa Barbara, where the big chains don't have as many options. But when booking a bachelorette weekend, one must make concessions to make sure budgets are met and enough beds are available. Our whole experience was great, booking went well, the staff was helpful, and they even brought up a bottle of champagne for the bride-to-be. And for not being a national group's property, it felt just as well maintained, and with just as nice of amenities. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SissieJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Right on the beach in Santa Barbara. If this is your primary criteria, then this is a good spot. You pay for the location. The room was spacious and clean. My only complaint is that there were some maintenance issues I would not expect in a room at this price -- one light fixture was broken with the bulb hanging by the wire, and the drain in one of the bathroom sinks was stuck closed. Neither of these items were big issues, it's just if you are going to charge $350+ a night, then details matter. Staff was efficient. Avoid the roll away bed if you have kids -- they are quite creaky and uncomfortable. We will probably pay up next time and stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norcal-Saratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the Harbor View Inn. Our room was clean and quiet, just the way I like it. The beds were comfortable and the room was large. The location is the best and it's a nice walk to the stores and restaurants. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I arrived by train from OC to join my husband who had been here on business for a week. What a surprise to find the hotel literally a block from the train station. I didn't know what to expect about the hotel since my husband had not sent me any photos of his room or the resort, just the beautiful harbor view so I was wonderfully surprised to find a very large room with sitting area, king size bed, beautiful stone and tile bathroom and then that amazing Santa Barbara ocean view from a large deck. And, the room was beautifully furnished and oh, so comfy. We are accustomed to a minimum of four star resorts when we travel and this boutique hotel is right up there. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. This hotel is located at the pier on State Street and we walked everywhere we needed to go for great shopping and dining. The car stayed in the parking stall. We checked out this morning and I was truly sorry to go. Bonus, late check out at noon and I think it might be standard. I am looking forward to rejoining my husband here for another weekend get-a-way when he returns to stay here for work for a couple of weeks in January.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We used this hotel as our base in Santa Barbara. We had limited interaction with staff and limited use of the facilities. Staff was excellent upon check in/check out. They were pleasant and provided suggestions on where to eat or visit. Very helpful.

I am giving this hotel 4 stars based on its beauty, cleanliness, and location. Very pretty with great views of the city or beach. The rooms are large with nice balconies and always cleaned well. The location is perfect for tourists. Steps away from Stearns Wharf and State Street... couldn't be better.

Stay here for a clean hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place was horrible, due to snotty staff, on our honeymoon

Started immediately upon check-in. We arrived early, about 2pm, because this place has a horrible late check-in time, to see if we can get into our room early. Unfortunately the room was not ready but the rude guy checking us in did say that he'll call us when the room is ready, which was no biggie. We decided to walk out to Sterns Wharf and go to a winery and get some appetizers until the call came in. 4 approaches and no call, so we decide to walk back and see if we can check-in now, since that was the time stated on our confirmation. Of course our room was ready, yet he treated us like he had no obligation to call us as he previously mentioned.

My husband and I booked their most expensive ocean view room, as we were on our honeymoon. While the room was nice and definitely had an ocean view, it also had a gigantic street light directly in front of the balcony, with NO blackout shades. Yet the balcony on the other side of our room that faced nothing nor even close to the bedroom, had blackout shades. The stupid light kept us up each night we stayed there. When we called to complain, they were rude and told us there we're blackout shades in the room and on that window. The nerve of them telling us we were wrong, when we're sitting on the phone with them staring at the balcony doors that had no blackout shades. The balcony was completely unusable at night as the light was so bright you couldn't even see the ocean, and when we did sit outside people would walk by on the street and laugh at us because we were lite up brighter than a Christmas tree.

Secondly they charged us $250 for some smoking fee, when neither of us smoke. When I saw the fee, upon checkout, I asked about it. She showed me the time she "states" the bell guy smelled smoke from our room or balcony or whatever, and we weren't even in or close to the hotel at that time. When I asked to speak with a manager they stated there was no manager on duty, really on a Sunday when everyone checks out you don't have a manager on duty. When I got the business card for the manager/ceo I contacted him immediately the next day, assuming a Monday he would be available. He finally called me back and left a message on Tuesday, at which time he stated an email would probably be the faster way of talking with him. So I emailed him to discuss all this, guess what? He never responded. SHOCKER

Don't stay at this place unless you like the snotty service on a very special vacation. If I could do that part of the trip over again I'd stay at the Four Seasons for $100 more and have an incredible experience, instead of the crappy one at the Harbor View Inn.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the expensive ocean front/view rooms on the street. You'll have a gigantic str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am so sorry that you had to wait to get into your room it was a busy weekend and we do try to get everyone in before 4:00pm, I wish you would have taken our offer to have you move rooms on Saturday but I understand once you are in a room it is hard to move, I do agree there is a city light on the street across from the room we have never had a problem before. I hope you will give us another try and I Thank-you for taking the time to write a review please call me if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing