We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice indeed!”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here - the room was lovely - but the bathroom was amazing! Great balcony and the beds are wonderful.

Breakfast in the restaurant is a must - and as a Mum I really appreciate the kids menu - really high stand of choice and the meals are beautifully presented (not always the case with childrens meals)

The location is perfect - beachfront, and an easy walk to State St where all the stores are - fabulous shopping to be had!

The only downside (and not the hotel's fault) is all the homeless people in State Street - it's unbelievable.
Some just keep to themselves, some call out , some follow you and others are just abusive. I saw an older couple get verbally abused by a young feral type girl - it was quite distressing. As we were travelling with our 2 young daughters, I guess I was hyper aware of this - and also not being from the US, I think I notice it more. Sadly I think it changed my opinion of Santa Barbara - not sure I'd hurry back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived in Santa Barbara by train, and we weary travelers were more than ready for the luxury accommodations provided by the Harbor View Inn. The rooms were spacious, the hotel staff was warm, welcoming, and professional. With only one day to spend in lovely Santa Barbara, we relied on the recommendations of the hotel's guest services representatives,and found many restaurants and tourist attractions within easy walking distance. I would certainly give the Harbor View Inn a five star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyann0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights during October and were very happy. The location is nice and close to the pier and transport around the local area.

Loved the high ceilings and the beds were very comfy. The WiFi was a little spotty at times, but on the whole was fine.

Would definitely stay at the Harbor View again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay to really appreciate the beauty of Santa Barbara. The location, right on the sea front next to the pier gives great views as the sun sets. It is within easy walking distance to the harbor and State Street is just around the corner for cafes and shops.

We stayed here as part of a road trip of California and turned up without a booking. Staff were couteous and polite. As expected in this area, without a booking, prices can be on the high side but it was money well spent.

The only fault was that the complementary wifi was very temperamental. We needed access to plan the next stage of our trip and were forced to go to a coffee shop to get a reliable signal.

On the whole this is a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived late on our trip along the pacific coast highway. No reservation and no place to stay. We turned a corner to drive along the coastbroad and to the left of us the picturesque Santa Barbara pier.. We were tired and took the first hotel to our right... A place called the Harbour View Inn. We were lucky.. The last room. Ok, I thought ... We'll take it! Got the keys, ground floor, opend the door ... WOW! What a dream! Colonial style bed, ventilator fan on the ceiling, Italien tiled bathroom, porch with two sunbeds! My wife and I travel quiet a bit ... And this was EXACTLY what we were wanting to find in romantic Santa Barbara. The room was litarally facing Santa Barbara Pier.. What a dream. So our resumee.... Great place to fall in love with, good value for money and nice staff... Our tip... Take a couple of Malibou and pineapple drinks on the porch and watch the sunset...

Room Tip: Grund Floor, facing the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDynamicDuoLohberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved Santa Barbara. Harbor View Inn was a perfect location -- across the street from the pier and just blocks from the shopping strip. The hotel restaurant was great; we stayed there 3 days and ate breakfast at the restaurant 3 days in a row. They also have a coffee house next door. Didn't use the hotel spa, but looked intriguing. The hotel rooms were average, but the location made it seem unimportant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We Stayed 2 nights room only at this lovely hotel. Excellent location opposite the pier and beach. Plenty of free parking spaces. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
Very nice room modern room, 2 really comfortable queen beds, classy décor, everything you would expect from a 4 diamond hotel. The pool area and garden is very well maintained. The bar/restaurant, is facing the sea front, serves good quality food and drinks, we had a lunch and evening meal it does close around 10.30 pm so go early. There are also some good places to eat on the pier, fresh fish, chowder etc. Turn left and next left to walk into the town centre, load's of shops ,bars, restaurants for all prices and taste, Macy's, designer shops and standard affordable shopping. Really enjoyed our stay at Santa Barbara, ,so much to see and do, hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelinaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
863 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $271 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing