We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let the Picture Fool You”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The picture of this hotel does not do it justice. This is a vey beautiful place. I took the advice of others and asked for the new section. The parking spaces were assigned and we had no trouble. The hotel is very safe with key card access everywhere.
Daniel met us as we pulled in to take our luggage to our room. He is a delightful young man and was very helpful.
The young man working at the pool could not have been more attentive and accomadating.
The location is right across the street from the warf and they have some wonderful places to eat.
Took the tour of the island to get the lay of the land and then were able to walk into town to eat and shop. It was worth the money. Would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvOCNJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Harbor View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Right across from Sterns wharf and around the corner from State st. They don't have specific parking spaces reserved near you rooms so you might have to walk a little with your luggage to get to your room. Rooms neat and clean. Ate at the restaurant on the property ( can't remember the name) but surprised at how good it was. Food great and could sit outside, charming patio. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Harbor View is an excellent hotel, with an unbeatable location.

I found the staff very helpful and attentive.

We had a non-view room, however, it had a balcony looking across into a bamboo tree line that we enjoyed our coffee on each morning (it’s quiet on that side, versus the more busy beach/street facing units).

The rooms were clean, spacious and modern.

The bedding would rival any top tier hotel. The bellmen were especially warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCal_Worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this (motel-style) hotel in August 2012 in Room 238. A nice large room with balcony overlooking the pool.

The room had a safe and Air-Con. Even though we were virtually on the sea-front the room was quiet.
The large bathroom was very clean with separate WC & shower.

There were coffee making facilities but this was just instant coffee – a bit of a disappointment when compared to the standard of the rest of the hotel and facilities.

Breakfast was in the restaurant next door – we had a 10% off voucher provided by the hotel. Basically it is a restaurant style breakfast, so you order what you want – no buffet style. One of our breakfasts was disappointing – it was burnt.

As mentioned the hotel is on the sea-front and is very convenient for the pier and town. The hotel has a large car-park – we had no trouble parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Opposite the pier and with lots of touristy things around you the location is great for holiday makers. Literally on the beach so lots going on.

We booked a king bed room for one night on our way through town. On arrival we were offered a double queen - which was a bit odd. So they changed it to a single king room which was in a dark corner next to the Gym, Pool and Pool Bar. Not that this bothered us much but it was so dark. The windows were on the path that everyone walked past so we couldn't leave the open or have the blinds up when we were in there as everyone could see straight it.

The shower / bath plug was jammed closed so we had to call for an engineer to fix it. They were reasonably quick at this but it was another little thing that should not happen.

There is a restaurant attached to the Inn, it looked quite touristy and mexican / fast food like. There are more local bars in town and we found a great on Blush - on the high street with a garden and really nice atmosphere. We had drinks and dinner here - really loved it.

So perhaps this place really depends on the room you get - I'd not stay there again if I was going back - but I see others had a different time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were so surprised by the Harbor View - fantastic location, beautiful, well equipped big rooms and immaculate service, made a for lovely stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer as Santa Barbara itself also had a great feel. We would have rated it 5 stars - except the A/C in our room was pretty noisy.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I took my girlfriend to the Channel Islands for some hiking and wanted to impress her with a nice comfortable, if not luxurious and romantic, hotel room afterwards. I think I succeeded with this hotel. We booked the third floor in the West Wing which gave us a nice view of the bay, Stearns Wharf and the beach. Below was the pool and green area which remained relatively quiet during our stay ( the week before Labor Day). We enjoyed the room very much which had very nice appointments and details - large flat screen tv above a period dresser, a separate living area with a couch and chair and desk, carpet inlays with ceramic tile borders, separate shower and tub in a fully tiled bathroom, and plenty and plenty of over-sized pillows on a raised platform bed. The room lacked a fireplace, but we were there in August and wouldn't have wanted it then. There are a few more expensive and more luxurious rooms in Santa Barbara, but this one is within walking distance of the wharf for moonlit walks and the town center for breakfast and shopping.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor in the West Wing. You would then have a nice view of the bay...
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $278 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing