We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Safety Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have stayed here twice for sales meetings. It is a very nice property and is well maintained. The staff is very good, with the possible exception of the wait staff in the breakfast buffet. We were practically finished by the time we were offered coffee and water on both our arrival and departure days. The food that was served during our conference was excellent for meeting fare. Nothing was over cooked or dried out. The rooms are very comfortable and the bedding is exceptional. The fitness center is nicely furnished and the equipment pretty well maintained for hotel equipment. The property is beautiful and the location could not be better. You do have to walk across a pretty busy street to get to the beach, but that is a minor inconvenience. Since we were there for a sales meeting and the company covered our room, I do not know the going rate. The rate posted on the back of the door in the room was $720, which is ridiculous, but I am sure that is probably a CYA on their part. It is an excellent place to stay if the rate is affordable for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    985
    640
    304
    139
See reviews for
1,029
1,081
90
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Was a nice hotel and centrally located. Our room was a nice size. It is a very large facility so we did lots of walking to the lobby and back to our room. Great landscaping, self parking is available for a fee. Pool was very busy when we visited at the end of May. Really could use more than one pool at this large a hotel. Bar was nice and the food we ate was all good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank C3645VVhelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our resort. We appreciate your suggestion regarding a second pool which happens to be a project being discussed by resort management. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The grounds and location of The Fess Parker are great, which is why I am at least giving this place a two. But, the interiors of the buildings and the rooms are awful and outdated. The hall ways are dirty and run down. The first room they tried to give us smelled like wet dogs. The second room was marginally better but still smelled bad. The carpet is old and dirty. The furniture and bathrooms are very very outdated. The place does not look like it has been updated since the 90s. Overall, the rooms were very disappointing. I am sure there are nicer places in the same area that are more charming and clean. Also, I never could understand why a place like this feels the need to charge for parking. The parking is not a premium. The lot was never full and this is something that should be the cost of doing business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minou270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you for your comment regarding our location. The resort's easy access to the beach, Stearns Wharf, the Santa Barbara Zoo and downtown Santa Barbara is a convenience so many of our guests enjoy. We are sorry that the interior of our guestrooms did not meet your expectations and I apologize if you were not made aware of our parking fee at the time you made the reservation. The maintenance and monitoring required to maintain the parking lot is extensive and we do check regularly to make certain our prices are comparable to other beach front hotel parking fees. We hope you understand our position and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Never new what the fuss was about an ocean front view until I spent a few days here. How relaxing to hear the ocean and watch the pelicans diving for diner. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of parking. The employees always greeted us with a smile and were always eager to help in any way. Our ocean front room was very comfortable, included a garden patio and we could see the ocean from our bed. The breakfast buffet was very good. My wife is a Hilton Honors Diamond member so I am very glad Double Tree is part of the Hilton family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelClimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

From the time you pull in to the time you leave the staff treats you like family and is there to help you--what a great place to visit again and againn!!!! Ever need is met beyond every expection. The food is amazing,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend here at the Fess Parker and we were blown away by the level of service and hospitality from the moment you pull up to the hotel. Valet staff and luggage handlers are super friendly.

Rooms are nice, but the beds are super comfortable. Blackout shades are also perfect. Location is amazing, and the fire pit outside area is a fantastic place to have a drink just outside the bar lobby. Great service at the bar, and I recommend the Firestone 805 Blond Ale. We also had apple pie a la mode at the bar after dinner one night - excellent place for dessert and watching the game.

Finally, the Hotel Director of Rooms, Alex Yi is amazing. We met him at the lobby bar, and he was welcoming of all the guests and took time out to say hello to us as well. A good sign is that a lot of locals come to the bar for an evening drink. A perfect romantic weekend hotel for Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is located just across the street from the beach in Santa Barbara, but from within the hotel we didn't really get the feel that we were near the beach (hallways were dark, many rooms did not seem to have an ocean view). The lobby was beautiful, but the room we stayed in didn't have an exclusive feel to it (it was in need of renovation and the small mini-bar fridge was warmer than the room). The hotel was so big it felt a bit like we were staying in a cheap motel next to a fancy hotel. The hotel also sits next to an active train track with a very loud whistle. Parking was a bit of a hassle. While it is possible to find on-street parking in Santa Barbara, the Fess Parker makes you pay to even drive up to the hotel. This made meeting up with friends a bit of a production. Overall, I would happily return to Santa Barbara, but I wouldn't spend the money on the Fess Parker again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vveldkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing