We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here during our west coast trip as a stop off before hitting LA, we booked it with Hilton honour points so it was excellent value.

We did not regret our decision, the hotel is nicely positioned next to the coast road and fairly easy to ind although the signage could do with being larger. Check I was painless and we were given a nice cookie at check in.

We were in he Bougainville building on the second floor, you can drive round and we left our car near the entry door in the huge free car park.

First impressions were ok, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable and huge, we had a balcony and we could see the sea from our room. The bathroom however although functional could probably do with a refresh. The bath panel was a little worn. The shower was ok and toiletries were provided.

The room was peaceful with the exception of the Amtrak trains using the adjacent tracks, the horn could wake the dead so why do they feel the need to blast the horn through town at 2am?? No fault of the hotel, but be warned.

We used the pool area which is very nice, towels are provided free for guests.

We were charged for breakfast in our rate, we opted for the 24$ pp buffet which was very good, plenty of choice and good quality,

Overall, we led the doubletree and would recommend it if you're staying in Santa Barbera.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    965
    625
    299
    136
See reviews for
1,011
1,049
88
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a nice location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with fresh baked cookies. The restaurant at the hotel was pretty good as well. The pool area was very inviting.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jokr151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is in an amazing location. The hotel itself is a little dated. We had a broken dresser drawer and then had to move rooms because the AC was broken. Ended up with a smaller room. We were only there for a night, so didn't make much fuss. The pool bar wasn't open which was annoying. But overall the grounds, the staff and the amenities were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theslickmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were average but expensive. Parking was $19 a night, also expensive! The hotel was right on the beach, the rooms were adjoined which was nice since we had 7 girls in the party. We didn't spend much time in the room but I was expecting more for the price and I got a discounted rate. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helovesmythighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We thank you for selecting our resort for the Bachelorette Party. Our destination, location and the larger size of our guestrooms is attractive for this type of celebration. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location near the beach and connecting guestrooms. We do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you. Our Reservations team is always willing to discuss various room types and packages available. We hope when your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara you will contact us and give us the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would recommend this hotel because of the service and location. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Just across the street from the beach and short walk to State Street. Nice pool area and lounge. They also offer a shuttle to/from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I thought this hotel was amazing - the grounds are really nice, the location is very convenient and my room had great views of the mountains. However, there are a few minuses - like the price on weekends can be extremely high for what you get (I used Hilton points, so that turned out to be a great deal). Some things are definitely dated and the pool is probably the biggest weakness of the whole place. That said, I'd stay there again with points. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, for a high-profile hotel like this I would expect something more high-end than the standard Hilton selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The rooms were large and we had a partial ocean view. It has a pool and the grounds are located across the street from the beach. The outside patio of the hotel bar is a beautiful place to have a glass of wine and watch the sunset. State street is not too far (short cab or longer walk). The only complaint is that the grounds and the rooms were slightly dated. Also, the parking was expensive. Overall, I would stay here again and it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing