We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the end of March for 2 nights.
We had an excellent time, one of the Valets can't remember his name :-(, gave us a great recommendation on dinner.
We had appetizers in the restaurant/bar one night and it was DELICIOUS! Service in the restaurant could have been better.

We will definitely return to this location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,008
    654
    322
    142
See reviews for
1,073
1,108
93
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our dog really felt at home at the Fess Parker Hotel. He loved the walk around the grounds and the beach right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The accommodations and special treats for our dog also appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The ocean view room was, clean and comfortable. Bed, not as comfortable as I've had in much less pricey places. Skip Rodney's and opt for The Set (the bar area) for your food. Rodney"s was overpriced and unpleasant with kids running, around, playing with toys and such. AND I love kids (got five of my own) When I pay $50+ for food, not counting drinks and dessert, I expect the atmosphere to be upscale and elegant and quiet. It was none of those. So for the remaining meals we took at the hotel, we chose the more lively (and yes family friendly) area which overlooks the water. The food is all coming from the same kitchen, the menu is different, varied and good! Finding the entrance is slightly confusing, and I was quite unhappy that we had to pay for WiFi service. Especially when the person at the front desk who checked us is said that he had signed me up for HHonors. $12.95 for 24 hours is really ridiculous. And kind of cheesy for a place like this to gouge the customer for a convenience that really is no effort on their part.
I can't say if I would stay again. We had an amazing weekend, but really no thanks to Fess Parker. There are other hotels on the beach (which is want we wanted) and I'd try them out before returning here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We were pleased to see your comment "A very enjoyable stay" but so disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the less than quiet atmosphere at dinner and that you were unaware of the internet fees. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara and you decide to give us another chance, I hope you will contact our reservations department on property and take advantage of a package that includes a very desirable guestroom rate, complimentary internet fee and complimentary self parking. Thank you for your review and for your candid and constructive comments. You have given me the opportunity to share this information with the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I, along with many of our friends and family, had a wonderful weekend at the Fess Parker. My husband and I were upgraded to a Junior Suite in the main building since we had a room block and our welcome dinner at the hotel. The suite was so nice- the patio opened to the walkway around the rotunda, and we could walk out and see the ocean and the mountains. The room was very spacious, and it was so convenient to have my friends and family over as I was getting ready for the ceremony. Most of my family stayed either in Eucalyptus or Camellia, and though I did not spend much time in any of their rooms, I heard positive things.

We did not have our ceremony or reception at the hotel, but my in-laws hosted our welcome dinner in the Fiesta Room. The food was delicious and the staff was very helpful. This room opens up to the same rotunda patio as our suite, and the location was perfect for our dinner. Our guests could go freely from inside to outside, enjoying the beautiful Santa Barbara views.

The location is fantastic. It's an easy walk across the street to the beach. On our last day at the hotel, we actually walked from the hotel to Stearns Wharf. It only took about 20 minutes, and the walk along the beach was so pleasant. The drive to downtown is only about 10 minutes.

My mother, sister, and I had body treatments at the Spa Del Mar. My sister and I both had the "Almond Glow"- I felt great, and my skin was incredibly smooth for days afterwards. I'm not sure which treatment my mother had, but I know she had a nice experience as well.

Our wedding guests who stayed at the hotel (and our guests who just stopped by to visit) couldn't stop gushing over how beautiful the hotel was, how great the location was, and what a nice time they were having. Thank you so much to the Fess Parker, especially Melinda Herrera who endured my endless pre-wedding emails and Chuck (unfortunately I don't know the last name) who organized the welcome dinner with my mother in law, for making the weekend such a success. I'm sure we will be seeing you to celebrate anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The grounds were beautiful, the staff was very helpful. Check in was fast and easy with a very helpful staff member that was so friendly. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Patio of our room was comfortable and the view was great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We thank you for selecting our resort for your stay in Santa Barbara and appreciate the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Don't park your car near any sprinklers. The room was fine, except for the thin walls and listening to the neighbors, but unfortunately the water spots that were baked into my car hood remind me of Fess Parker Doubletree every day.

I stayed here during the ACDA western division conference February 19-23. When I arrived (and no sprinklers were on), I happened to park near a sprinkler that watered the parking lot instead of the grass. I'd not gone out to the car for 2 days; by then the spots looked 'baked'. I found a good car wash and wax place, but it didn't remove the spots.

The room director back at the hotel sent the security officer out with me to see where I parked; he took pictures and had me fill out a claim form. Since returning home, I've gone to the best car wash/wax place I could find, got the whole works, but still no luck. Its owner said that once it's baked into the paint, there's no getting rid of it. (I'd just gotten a new paint job less than 2 months prior.)

In the meantime, over $160 later, I've since left messages with the hotel room director. He had said to call him if I hadn't heard from anyone. He never returned my calls, and I never heard from their insurance company. At the time, I thought that they would just offer some sort of credit or compensation - a night's stay (at the conference deal, it was quite the savings), the wax job, a dinner - but nothing. He wanted to process the claim with their insurance, where it fell into a 'black hole'. In most cases, I'm sure the customer does go away and the company saves a few bucks by just blowing customers off after a simple "oh, we're sorry"...I suppose it worked...and most of the ratings here are very good, so too bad for those who had bad experiences.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re very sorry that the report and claim took so long to process and by now I'm certain you have heard from our manager. I looked into this matter and discvoered that we have refunded you for one night of your stay. I am sorry for the frustration created and that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by the sprinkler issue. The Property Operations team is aware of this situation and will do everything possible to keep this from happening with future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Despite the wonderful staff, we were very disappointed in this "resort" hotel.

The management policy seems to be to take every opportunity to make you feel unwelcome and exploited. Difficulty in entering through the barriers for new visitors at night, $19 parking charge, $12.95 charge for wifi, $9.20 a bottle for water in room etc. The wifi charge is apparently to protect the substantial Hilton income stream from tv pornography; it all feels like a throwback to the 80's.

Maintenance seemed poor; external door still does not latch despite previous reports, strange stain in the middle of our carpet, noxious smell in our room (and throughout Bougainvillea), no hot water in tub of our first room, tv signal poor in our replacement.

There are no real resort facilities except for tennis and the pool, the beach is the far side of a very busy road, and homeless people and beggars abound. We moved to the Santa Barbara hotel and were delighted with the decision.

Room Tip: Avoid Bougainvillea due to awful odour, distance from facilities and poor security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonaire2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We have noted the condition of the TV and bathtub in the rooms you stayed in was substandard. I apologize for the charges you encountered. We try to offer a personalized experience to our guests while keeping costs low. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate and refresh options at our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing