We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally happy with our choice, but a few issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in glorious California sunshine. It is bigger than it appears on the website, but efficient and well run. Our room was enormous, comfortable and well equipped. Staff were friendly and attentive, with the exception of the duty concierge who was not as helpful as she could have been as regards contacting the hotel's hair salon for an appointment. The salon is closed on Sundays and Mondays but will come in by arrangement (or so we were told) - in the event they never called back. Also closed on Sundays and Mondays was the main restaurant (Rodney's Grill) which was disappointing. The Fitness Center was open, thankfully, and very good. Breakfast was plentiful but of average quality. The seafront location is excellent - Stearns Wharf and State Street are walkable for the reasonably energetic. Plenty of onsite parking is available - but shouldn't this be free to guests? We felt rather intimidated by a large conference which was taking place during our visit - they rather overran the place, and the noise levels in the public areas were uncomfortable at times. May be worth checking who's in town before you book...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,952 - 1,958 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff were helpful but I cannot give the room a good rating. Not enough towels for 3 people. Beds were hard, pillows way to soft and the room was hot and stuffy. Opened sliding door but since it has a special security lock didn't feel safe to leave open during night. I thought for the cost it would have been at least 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Fess Parker Double Tree for our anniversary. It was our first time at the hotel. We loved everything about it from the moment we pulled up! The valets were so friendly! Then we were greeted by the front desk with two warm chocolate chip cookies. The hotel had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room with a nice note saying 'happy anniversary'. We had a fireplace, large soaking tub and a third floor balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel is not walking distance to State Street, but there is a shuttle that pulls right up to the hotel. Close enough to get to the fun stuff, but far enough to get a good nights rest. I would definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for selecting our resort for your special anniversary celebration! We appreciate your kind compliments regarding the service you received from our team and we are pleased you enjoyed the guestroom, our wonderful location and beautiful ocean view. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

While I didn't stay long enough to confidently rate the hotel, the workers made my stay great. Chad, who drove me from the airport and was fun and told me a lot about the area, and the Dave at the hotel let me borrow his phone charger - great people!
The breakfast was fine and the place is beautiful. Beach is two minute walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank iAmpuero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments about the service you received from our staff. We certainly hope you have the opportunity to return and have more time to enjoy all that Santa Barbara has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

had a great time. checked in to our first room which wasn't cleaned. the staff immediately found us another room that was comparable to the Jr Suite I had booked. the location was perfect. Across from the beach. pool was nice and had a great view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

When we first arrived, I was impressed with the valet and bellman. However, our room was nothing to write home about. It was older, not especially clean feeling (especially the bathroom) and overall, a lackluster experience. The food at the buffet was nothing to write home about. This was definitely a 3 stat experience. I would probably rather pay more to get more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We were disappointed to read your comments and are very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I wish I had known about this while you were here. We would have done everything possible to make certain we not only met but exceeded your expectations. If your plans include a return trip our way, please contact us direct. We would be pleased to oversee your reservation arrangements and make certain you enjoy your next stay in Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This used to be my favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. Always 5 star, the property WAS first rate with their service and rooms. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. My first room I couldn't get into because the lock was broken. Then the room I was put in the drawers fell off on the dresser. The internet access never worked even though over 3 days I called their front desk and IT tech support. We could always get on their router, but never could get on the internet. They said sorry that building you are in has bad internet. Really? The ice machine on our floor was broken, had to go downstairs to get ice. The last morning we were there, there were no bath towels left by housekeeping. I can say I won't stay there again. Overpriced!!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this property, so if you have heavy luggage or any issues with stairs requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieSue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $207 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing