We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Fess Parker Double Tree for our anniversary. It was our first time at the hotel. We loved everything about it from the moment we pulled up! The valets were so friendly! Then we were greeted by the front desk with two warm chocolate chip cookies. The hotel had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room with a nice note saying 'happy anniversary'. We had a fireplace, large soaking tub and a third floor balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel is not walking distance to State Street, but there is a shuttle that pulls right up to the hotel. Close enough to get to the fun stuff, but far enough to get a good nights rest. I would definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort for your special anniversary celebration! We appreciate your kind compliments regarding the service you received from our team and we are pleased you enjoyed the guestroom, our wonderful location and beautiful ocean view. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    876
    567
    271
    124
See reviews for
932
932
77
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

While I didn't stay long enough to confidently rate the hotel, the workers made my stay great. Chad, who drove me from the airport and was fun and told me a lot about the area, and the Dave at the hotel let me borrow his phone charger - great people!
The breakfast was fine and the place is beautiful. Beach is two minute walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iAmpuero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments about the service you received from our staff. We certainly hope you have the opportunity to return and have more time to enjoy all that Santa Barbara has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

had a great time. checked in to our first room which wasn't cleaned. the staff immediately found us another room that was comparable to the Jr Suite I had booked. the location was perfect. Across from the beach. pool was nice and had a great view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

When we first arrived, I was impressed with the valet and bellman. However, our room was nothing to write home about. It was older, not especially clean feeling (especially the bathroom) and overall, a lackluster experience. The food at the buffet was nothing to write home about. This was definitely a 3 stat experience. I would probably rather pay more to get more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We were disappointed to read your comments and are very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I wish I had known about this while you were here. We would have done everything possible to make certain we not only met but exceeded your expectations. If your plans include a return trip our way, please contact us direct. We would be pleased to oversee your reservation arrangements and make certain you enjoy your next stay in Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This used to be my favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. Always 5 star, the property WAS first rate with their service and rooms. Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. My first room I couldn't get into because the lock was broken. Then the room I was put in the drawers fell off on the dresser. The internet access never worked even though over 3 days I called their front desk and IT tech support. We could always get on their router, but never could get on the internet. They said sorry that building you are in has bad internet. Really? The ice machine on our floor was broken, had to go downstairs to get ice. The last morning we were there, there were no bath towels left by housekeeping. I can say I won't stay there again. Overpriced!!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this property, so if you have heavy luggage or any issues with stairs requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieSue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Coming from LAX on my my way to LA we checked in this hotel.
All well organized , clean and efficient at a beautiful location on the beach, all perfect, but it so big It's like a village!! Rooms good with nice balcony, and clean, good food with excellent breakfast , grounds impeccably maintained.
Just cross the road and you're on the beach ( with early morning you share with interesting runners and homeless who are harmless and interesting to talk with)
All in all a very nice place to spend first night in CA

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otto t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We thank you for selecting our resort for your first night in California and appreciate the great review. Your description and observations will be very helpful to our TripAdvisor readers. We appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff was awesome especially Doug was incredible he really took good care of us. We stayed in two different rooms. The first night we stayed in the Fess Parker room. Wow is the best description I can give. The Suite was very comfortable and the many balconies showcased the ocean in every direction possible. The second night we stayed in an ocean view room on the third floor. To be honest after staying in the Fess Parker Suite the nightly room rate for this room was is our opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 782belindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing